Painting and decorating, plaster mouldings, Artexing questions

Moderator: Moderators

Gobley
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0

Water based black gloss on front door query

Post by Gobley »

Hi all newbie here

After some advice please I’m painting our front door black it was black anyway and not in bad condition but needed a new lick of paint to get it back to its best.
I believe it was an oil based gloss previously so gave it a thorough clean then sanded it down and cleaned again because of the drying time I thought I’d go with a water based gloss (first mistake maybe) I used Ronseals high gloss black gave it a first coat rolling on the flats then laying the brush going with the grain used a brush to do the inlays. Wasn’t impressed with the finish but thought it may get better after the 2nd coat but it hasn’t I’m finding if you go back over this water based gloss even after 10 seconds it loses its sheen and becomes more of a satin finish.
So now I have a dilemma do I buy a different water based paint and try doing a light key or can I go back to using an oil based gloss which I’m more confident with.
Any advice would be most grateful.
BuntyCollox
Newly registered Member

Post by BuntyCollox »

Hi there, this is one that splits many decorators opinions right down the middle! I personally use water based trim paints 95% of the time now both internally and externally. Although I can achieve a completely brush mark free finish, it's taken me a good few years to get to that level. Unless you're completely confident you can do the same, you might be better going with an oil based undercoat and gloss. As for sheen, I think you'll always get a higher sheen level from oil than you will from acrylic. My personal preference for water based gloss is Tikurilla but it's probably only about an 80% sheen. It will get better the more layers you build up but still won't match oil. Hope this helps / makes sense?!
Gobley
Newly registered Member

Post by Gobley »