PaulyP
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Wallpapering Advice

Post by PaulyP »

Hi,

I need a little advaise.

I have been renovating a rarely used shower room. There has been some plaster skimming on some walls and others have been filled. All walls were then painted with 2 coats of screwfix bare plaster contract matt white. The ceiling I then painted with Dulux Easycare Bathroom washable. As I liked the finish I decided to paint the walls with it as well. I painted a couple of walls with the first coat of Dulux Easycare. Thinking I had a another can of paint, I started painting the next wall but half way through the wall I realised I didn't and ran out, so blended out the paint to leave it smooth so I could continue when I next could get paint.
So, Right now I have a couple of walls with 1 coat of Dulux Easy care and the largest wall is about 1/3 easycare, 1/3 contract matt and a blended out bit in between.

You're probably wondering why I titled this as wallpaper advise given I only mentioned paint so far so here goes.

We have now decided to wallpaper instead (I know wall paper is not ideal for bathrooms but we have paper in there previously for 15 years without issue). We got the paper now which is a Vinyl based paper by Gallerie and a paste the wall kind.

So how do I proceed from here?

Given its all just in the process of decoration all walls are in perfect condition and I really don't want to sand anything now.

The contract matt area isn't sufficient for wall papering on given its too absorbent for the paste and the Dulux Bathroom which I assume is vinyl paint with a soft silk isnt suitable for sizing with Solvite wall sealer as its only for use on porous surfaces.

I was going to use the Beeline primer sealer but that requires different dilution rates depending on how absorbent. 1 to 1 for non absorbent and 3 to 1 for absorbent - so I cant really use that practically given the different absorbtion levels on the same wall.