Moderator: Moderators

fisha206
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Van

Post by fisha206 »

hey all
ive been working out of my car for about 18 months now doin a fair bit of domestic work i have gained a good reputation around a particular area and now,having plenty work on now i think its time to upgrade to a van.
i was wondering what people are using ideally it would fit 8x4 boards in to save time and money

Cheers Ben
trowel monkey

Post by trowel monkey »

Hi Ben,

i'd been doing the same until this year, decided to chop the car in for a van, spent much time deliberating on what to do, cost of running a big van over a smaller one etc and size of what i'd need to carry.

like you i was considering a van big enough to carry 8x4 sheets but consider the fact that they would need to go flat on the floor so your tools will need unloading first then in reverse when you want the boards off.

i finally decided that i would get a citroen dispatch, big enough to fit all my tools in and more than enough plaster for a days work as well as 4 or 5 8x4 boards on the large roof rack i fitted, if need more boards than this then i'd get them delivered to site, you will of course have to cover the boards if it's a wet day but think i've found the best solution for me doing domestic work as you do.
thescruff

Post by thescruff »

When I worked for myself, I had a double deck, or secret floor which hinged up.

Tools all went in the bottom out of sight, and the material on the top. Ideal if you carry large sheets, plus the van is wider above the wheel arch :roll:
fisha206
Newly registered Member

Post by fisha206 »