DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:17 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 9:21 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 8:59 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Herts, UK
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I have recently had my garden fully wired (radial system ... unsure that means) in each corner by a profession electrician. I have been informed that I can run electric heaters, kettle, etc. with no issue and it runs from the consumer unit in my garage which I think is connected to a 65 amp RCD fuse and he said if I wanted to run power to my new shed then I can merely spur off of one of the double sockets to a separate fused switch.
Ok so what I want to do is be able to move my shed in and out to maintain it every year so was thinking of using a one of those IP67 adapters like you see when connecting caravans to cars, so having a fixed socket on the fence and have a trailing flex from the shed. The trailing flex I was going to attach to the shed and then on to a new smaller consumer unit in the shed (x1 for lighting and x1 for plugs) ... does this sound ok?

I'm a competent diy-er just wanted to know the best (not necessarily the cheapest) way to do this and what parts to look out for, cheers for any advice?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 11:43 am 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2630
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
The plugs used with caravans do go wrong, it has to be plugged in, you could not hard wire a caravan, but because they know it can go wrong there is a slight change in rules to standard house, that is the use of double pole switching.

To have the shed wired to a plug and when you want power in the shed you plug it in great, but to leave plugged in, insects and spiders are likely to get into the plug and also water could get in.

You may to be fair get away with it for 10 years or more, but what tends to happen is faults arise which are never detected until too late. Yes we should do an EICR at least every 10 years, but we all also know we don't.

No one has defined temporary, the pre-fab houses built just after the war were temporary, and still in use today. But personally I would hard wire, and would not simply plug it in.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 10:03 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 8:59 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Herts, UK
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks ... I will consider hard wiring. If I do what do you recommend inside the shed, as in I have a cable coming into the shed, this will need to be water tight somehow, I want to add a double socket at least inside and some form of lighting wiring?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 4:52 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 566 times
I cannot see what is wrong with powering the shed from a waterproof socket


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 5:25 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 8:59 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Herts, UK
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OnlyMe wrote:
I cannot see what is wrong with powering the shed from a waterproof socket


I didn't know if that was acceptable or not, so wanted some advice.

fyi - just looked and the garden radial in on a 16 amp fused back on the consumer unit ... so I could take the power in thru a waterproof box, then into an isolating switch inside the shed, then feed the sockets from that isolator, then spur off the isolator to a second fused spur set at 5amp (?) for the lighting ... sound ok?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 7:17 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2607
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 566 times
Yes.

I suggest the use of SY cable between the shed and your power source


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Basher and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO