DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:49 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:05 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:59 am
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,

Need help wiring a new intermediate switch, current switch has 4 ports L1 to L1 and L2 to L2 new switch has 6 ports LA, LA1, LA2 and LB, LB1, LB2 I tried a few combinations but can't get it to work correctly. Images attached of Old and New switch. ImageImage

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22609
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1348 times
Been thanked: 3469 times
:welcomeuhm:

That doesn't look like any inter switch I've ever seen, was there any paperwork with the switch ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:55 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2398
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 514 times
:welcomeuhm:

What wine~o says. That looks like a 2 gang switch.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:17 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:59 am
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
No paperwork but is there a way of making work for me.

Cheers guys

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22609
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1348 times
Been thanked: 3469 times
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
No paperwork but is there a way of making work for me.



Yes. Take it back and get an intermediate switch.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:21 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:59 am
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
wine~o wrote:
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
No paperwork but is there a way of making work for me.



Yes. Take it back and get an intermediate switch.
Unfortunately got it from China so no taking back but thanks for you advise

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22609
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1348 times
Been thanked: 3469 times
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
wine~o wrote:
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
No paperwork but is there a way of making work for me.



Yes. Take it back and get an intermediate switch.
Unfortunately got it from China so no taking back but thanks for you advise

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk



:roll: :roll: buy from a UK dealer in future. Inter switch shouldn't cost more than a tenner even a posh one...

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : Jimmyjamjar
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:52 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:59 am
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
wine~o wrote:
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
wine~o wrote:
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
No paperwork but is there a way of making work for me.



Yes. Take it back and get an intermediate switch.
Unfortunately got it from China so no taking back but thanks for you advise

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk



:roll: :roll: buy from a UK dealer in future. Inter switch shouldn't cost more than a tenner even a posh one...
Cheers

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1980
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 396 times
wine~o wrote:
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
wine~o wrote:
Jimmyjamjar wrote:
No paperwork but is there a way of making work for me.



Yes. Take it back and get an intermediate switch.
Unfortunately got it from China so no taking back but thanks for you advise

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk



:roll: :roll: buy from a UK dealer in future. Inter switch shouldn't cost more than a tenner even a posh one...


that way at least you know its made to the correct safety standards and you have some sort of come back if it fails - Buy Cheap, Buy twice



For this message the author Bob225 has received gratitude : Jimmyjamjar
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:14 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2398
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 514 times
Bob225 wrote:
that way at least you know its made to the correct safety standards and you have some sort of come back if it fails - Buy Cheap, Buy twice


But the OPs photo of the switch has a CE mark on it.

Does that mean Chinese Export?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1980
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 396 times
I doubt it carries any CE certification

Quote:
The letters "CE" are the abbreviation of French phrase "Conformité Européene" which literally means "European Conformity". The term initially used was "EC Mark" and it was officially replaced by "CE Marking" in the Directive 93/68/EEC in 1993


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22609
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1348 times
Been thanked: 3469 times
Bob225 wrote:
I doubt it carries any CE certification

Quote:
The letters "CE" are the abbreviation of French phrase "Conformité Européene" which literally means "European Conformity". The term initially used was "EC Mark" and it was officially replaced by "CE Marking" in the Directive 93/68/EEC in 1993


The Chinese are cunning. they can copy and make fake "anything" including the CE mark which is why Only-me made the comment.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : OnlyMe
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO