DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:10 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 12:04 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 11:51 am
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi there. Im a basic diyer.

Wiring in plug sockets and plugs is about my limit.

I have a garden light with motion sensor and want to wire to a plug. Looking at the photo attached working from top to bottom on left hand side of connector block is as simple as top left live to top right live. Left second connector is where the earth will connect and finally neutral into third left hand connector.

Is this right?

Should i connect to 3amp plug?

Thanks in advance.


Attachments:
light.jpg
light.jpg [ 739.28 KiB | Viewed 710 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8129
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1382 times
What do the instructions say? (And there is no such thing as a 3A plug) If you mean a Standard UK plug with a 3A fuse then yes.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24047
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1507 times
Been thanked: 3811 times
:welcomeuhm:

Bit of a mix of colours there, as per S/E's post, surely it came with instructions ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:24 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2716
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
:welcomeuhm:

You are correct.

The top terminal is your live in, the second terminal is the earth and the third terminal is the neutral.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:26 pm 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 20858
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 2002 times
could be seeing things but second contact from the top seems to have a tab from the washer going in to it as the earth :dunno:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:45 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2716
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
someone-else wrote:
What do the instructions say? (And there is no such thing as a 3A plug) If you mean a Standard UK plug with a 3A fuse then yes.



I have already downloaded the instructions for a look. I can now see why the OP is double checking his connections.

Instructions here

https://www.endon.co.uk/UploadedAssets/ ... t%20v3.pdf

They are not very good are they?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 7:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24047
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1507 times
Been thanked: 3811 times
Sooo the top (spare) terminal is for the live loop (if there is one) ???

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 8:15 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2716
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 582 times
No.

The top terminal is either permanent live or a switched live from a lightswitch (if the lightswitch is off the light will not work)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:29 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 11:51 am
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for the replies. No wiring instructions at all and have I have two of these units!

Should have enough to go on now.

Much appreciated.☺


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO