DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:38 am


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 8:12 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 30
Location: TORQUAY
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi all,i need help with the the wiring of a master socket which was removed by the previous owner...i know its the property of bt but they want £100 to fit the socket!....the wire are as follow,4xyellow,1xwhite,1xblack,1xgreen,1xorange,im thinking of switching from cable to talk talk,so will need to have a working master socket,any idea on color? :help: thanks

_________________
FGTUJONBVFDES


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 8:39 pm 
Offline
Borders Bodger
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:06 pm
Posts: 8215
Location: Scottish Borders & East Devon
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Hi Jessy,

I am gonna guess your telephone line comes in on an overhead cable :lol:

Have a look at this post and all will be revealed in 2nd from last message :thumbright:

_________________
I went to a bookstore and asked the saleswoman, "Where's the self-help section?"
She said if she told me, it would defeat the purpose.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 10:09 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 30
Location: TORQUAY
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi,yes it comes off a pole in the lane behind my garden.....where is it i should look?thanks

_________________
FGTUJONBVFDES


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 10:19 pm 
Offline
Borders Bodger
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:06 pm
Posts: 8215
Location: Scottish Borders & East Devon
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 4 times
jessy1616bike wrote:
hi,yes it comes off a pole in the lane behind my garden.....where is it i should look?thanks


Sorry - I am a right plank!! I thought I pasted this link in my message
http://www.ultimatehandyman.co.uk/forum ... t9057.html :oops:

The last but one post in that thread tells you what the colours are, courtesy of the UHM Phone Expert :thumbright:

_________________
I went to a bookstore and asked the saleswoman, "Where's the self-help section?"
She said if she told me, it would defeat the purpose.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 5:55 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 30
Location: TORQUAY
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
great thanks for that....could i connect the orange and white into the master socket?and if so which wires go where?thanks rob

_________________
FGTUJONBVFDES


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 7:49 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45938
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 2931 times
Hi,

The standard layout was ;

No1 green/white
No2 blue/white
No3 orange/white
No4 white/orange
No5 white/blue
No6 white/green

Incoming to No 2 & 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 7:50 am 
Offline
Borders Bodger
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:06 pm
Posts: 8215
Location: Scottish Borders & East Devon
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 4 times
So the chances are Orange and White are the active pair (it is slightly possible that green and black are, but assume not for the time being)

Orange should go to connection 2 (maybe called A)
White should go to connection 5 (maybe called B)

They are actually swappable usually so don't worry too much about getting them mixed up.

_________________
I went to a bookstore and asked the saleswoman, "Where's the self-help section?"
She said if she told me, it would defeat the purpose.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 8:54 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:32 am
Posts: 3781
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 145 times
Here is some info on telephone coloours and uses, I think they are the same from when I did my 'phones, print it or save it somewhere.

John

B - W = Blue with thin white bands
W - B = White with thin blue bands
O - W = Orange with thin white bands
Colours shown in brackets are for use when
existing GREY or Cream cable is used.
(O) - Orange (B) - Blue (G) - Green

Although pin 4 has no function in a domestic installation it is usually
connected for the sake of neatness.

The BT Drop Cable (The cable coming from the outside world)

This often has Orange, White, Green and Black wires. Usually (but not always) Orange and White are the active pair and go to connections 2 and 5 in the master socket. In some master boxes (such as the type with a removable front section) they go to two connectors marked A and B.

Which way round they are connected usually doesn't matter but some modems (especially older USA sourced ones) and some answering machines are fussy about polarity, so it's wise if possible to check the voltage on the line and connect -48V to the B leg (5) and 0V to the A leg (2) in the master socket.

Internal Cabling
Conn No. Usual Cable Colour Carries
1 N/A No connection
2 Blue with White Bands, Speech and Ringing
3 Orange with White Bands Ringing
4 White with Orange Bands Not used but usually connected for neatness
5 White with Blue Bands Speech and Ringing
6 N/A No connection

An Important Note on Colour Codes
The colour code shown above is the one which would normally be used by BT. HOWEVER it isn't always adhered to, especially if internal wiring in a new house has been installed or modified by previous occupants.
You should never rely solely upon the colour code - always check both ends of the cable.

Fault Finding
No ringing - Terminal 3 disconnected
Phone ringing continuously.-Terminals 2 and 5 swapped (2 at one socket connected to 5 on another and vice versa)
Very poor speech quality, possibly poor bell. -Terminal 3 and 2 or 3 and 5 transposed

Ringing but no speech (or very poor speech) and can't dial out. Wire between terminals 2 or 5 broken.

Testing the cabling You have an installation where the main socket works and the remote in the garage roof doesn't. You need to test the continuity of the circuit. So you can use a very long lead with and a test meter - or cheat.

* Firstly, disconnect the BT line completely.
* In the remote end bridge any two terminals (make a note of which two).
* Measure continuity between these two wires at the master socket end - should be no more than a few ohms.
* Repeat for the second pair of wires.
* If either show a fault swap the combinations - so if you tried 2 and 4 and that was OK, and then 3 and 5 and that failed, you know 2 and 4 are both good so trying 2 and 5 and 2 (or 4) and 3 will show you the faulty wire.

OK - so you have tested the cables and there is 150 yds of cable buried in the newly decorated wall and only 2 wires have continuity - what do I do??
This is about the only occasion where you cheat and use a second master socket.
The second master gives you back your ring signal so connect the two working wires to terminals 2 and 5 on the new master and hope for the best!

_________________
Growing old is compulsory, growing up is not!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 5:40 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 30
Location: TORQUAY
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
thank you very much for the help and replies.... :-P rob

_________________
FGTUJONBVFDES


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:08 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:54 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi did this work please, i have the same problem, moving in 2 weeks and bt want £125 to fit new socket


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45938
Has thanked: 254 times
Been thanked: 2931 times
Hi :welcome:

It works if you follow the instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO