DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:57 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:42 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:08 am
Posts: 7
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,
I want to replace an existing British Gas PT2 thermostat with a Drayton Digistat + 3RF (seperate thermostat controls and receiver).
However, when looking at the Receiver and reading the wiring instructions it seems that I should have three wires, but the existing thermostat has only two.
I've photographed the new plate above the existing plate. The terminals read as follows.

New: N L 1 2 3 4

Old: 1 2 3

It seems that the existing wiring is Live to 1 and Neutral to 3.

Can I replace the existing plate with the new one (i hav ebeen told I should be able to), and if so how should the wiring go?

Many thanks


Attachments:
ResizerImage1100X1324.jpg
ResizerImage1100X1324.jpg [ 288.18 KiB | Viewed 347 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 5:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23570
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1444 times
Been thanked: 3691 times
:welcomeuhm:

Better asked in the central heating section. I'll see if I can get the Mods to move it.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6774
Has thanked: 810 times
Been thanked: 878 times
I would expect 4 wires to the receiver box.

Perm L & N and live into and out of the switch from the boiler/ wiring centre.

Depending on your set up you could possibly link the live from the permanent live.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:49 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:08 am
Posts: 7
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
gas4you wrote:
I would expect 4 wires to the receiver box.

Perm L & N and live into and out of the switch from the boiler/ wiring centre.

Depending on your set up you could possibly link the live from the permanent live.



Hello Dave and thanks for the prompt response. This is the first time I've looked at the existing receiver box since it was installed by British Gas. I've attached a photo the section from the Instruction leaflet, which doesn't make much sense to me.


Attachments:
ResizerImage1070X711.jpg
ResizerImage1070X711.jpg [ 268.29 KiB | Viewed 324 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6774
Has thanked: 810 times
Been thanked: 878 times
That’s showing exactly what I would expect in the receiver box.

Assuming you are putting the receiver box next to the wiring centre or boiler if it’s a combi.

What boiler/system do you have?

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 7:42 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:08 am
Posts: 7
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi Dave,

It's a British Gas 532 Combi, no doubt made by Worcester but can't say what the Worcester Model number would be. Although it's fairly old it's been serviced yearly by BG and it was one of their engineers who said the thermostat could be swapped, but wouldn't come under the agreement.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:37 pm
Posts: 428
Location: Coventry
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 64 times
gas4you is probably busy at the moment so I will try and help in his absence.
The two wires connected to your old room stat are probably a live and a switched live back to the boiler.
Your new receiver needs a permanent live and neutral to power it, plus the switching wires to control the boiler. You could mount the receiver in the same location as your old stat but you would need to provide a live and neutral and then transfer the switching wires 1 and 3 from your old stat across to 1 and 3 on the receiver.
As gas4you has said, normaly the receiver is mounted close to the boiler as this makes it easier to pickup a live and neutral and feed a switched live back.



For this message the author PLB has received gratitude : gas4you
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:12 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:08 am
Posts: 7
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
chunya wrote:
Hi Dave,

It's a British Gas 532 Combi, no doubt made by Worcester but can't say what the Worcester Model number would be. Although it's fairly old it's been serviced yearly by BG and it was one of their engineers who said the thermostat could be swapped, but wouldn't come under the agreement.
PLB wrote:
gas4you is probably busy at the moment so I will try and help in his absence.
The two wires connected to your old room stat are probably a live and a switched live back to the boiler.
Your new receiver needs a permanent live and neutral to power it, plus the switching wires to control the boiler. You could mount the receiver in the same location as your old stat but you would need to provide a live and neutral and then transfer the switching wires 1 and 3 from your old stat across to 1 and 3 on the receiver.
As gas4you has said, normaly the receiver is mounted close to the boiler as this makes it easier to pickup a live and neutral and feed a switched live back.



Good Morning,

Many thanks for that. It seems that the job is outside my area of competence so best left to a professional.

All the best


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO