DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:58 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:41 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:59 pm
Posts: 1709
Location: Swindon
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Well I'm back at my folks house for Christmas, having already fixed numerous other things around the house (as seems to be my job every time I return home) I've turned my attention to the broadband.
Current it's getting 300kbps downstream with 20-32db noise margin, 500kbps upstream with 11-22db noise margin.
Same with both the sky sagem router and cisco router, disconnected the extension line, swapped all the cables and microfilters, tried adjusting the target SNR.

It is clearly a problem with the line, so on the blower for the 9 millionth time to sky and they reckon we'll be liable to pay for line repairs.
Does anyone know this kind of thing a bit better, because that doesn't seem right to me, if we're renting the line and it's of a substandard quality because of natural degradation then surely it falls to sky, or BT to sort it out free of charge?

Anyone know whats the best way to go about getting BT/ Sky to get their arse into gear?
Cheers in advance guys :thumbright:


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:59 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:20 pm
Posts: 3030
Location: Sussex
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 192 times
report a fault with BT I reckon, Its still their infrastructure.

If its a problem with the line I think its bt free of charge if its something the consumer has broken or messed about with they will charge for it.

_________________
- Dave

http://www.invertedcircle.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:10 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6648
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
I was always understood it to be as:

You pay your broadband / line rental fee to a 3rd party (SKY in this case) Any problems you have should be pointed towards your ISP. Your ISP will / should contact the line provider (Open reach in this case)

Your contract is with SKY therefore Open reach will not work for you, unless you pay them.

That is the "joys" of having an ISP that is not your line provider. This was told to me by an Open reach chap who came to fix a fault with my line, he said I can call them direct because my phone provider is BT, but any one else (such as SKY) can't.

Good luck.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:25 am 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9498
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1676 times
YOUR responsibility stops at the NTE socket (where the line comes into your property). Any problem on the 'outside' of this socket belongs to BT whoever may be providing the service. The LINE is BTs property and is only rented to you or your provider.

I had endless problems with my download speed and had to constantly get BT to do a 'reset' at the exchange. It turned out to be the MODEM (BT-supplied) as I eventually swapped it out and the fault disappeared.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:41 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:02 am
Posts: 2733
Location: Dorset
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 437 times
This is the reason that I stuck with BT as my broadband supplier as they can't blame anyone else for any issues, which thankfully I've not had. The only exception to that is if you're in a Virgin Cable area.

_________________
Cheers,
Darren

Maidment Properties - Bathroom and Kitchen Specialists - Dorset


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:59 pm
Posts: 1709
Location: Swindon
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 115 times
So by that, should Sky pay for the repairs or will my parents be liable?
I'm 100% it's a line fault outside of the property and not due to negligence or tampering.

They've always had crap connection, always cut out loads and what have you but it was never this slow.
I reckon it has something to do with the neighbours house getting hit by lightning a few years ago, everything on a phone line within a few houses got fried, can't have been good for it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:20 pm
Posts: 3030
Location: Sussex
Has thanked: 214 times
Been thanked: 192 times
BT should be liable

_________________
- Dave

http://www.invertedcircle.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6648
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1120 times
I still say you need to contact your ISP (you can of course try calling BT, but...............)
Although your neighbours property was struck by lightening a few years ago, sorry I think that is a red herring. Lightening can and does strike, but companies like BT have lightening arrestors to protect equipment, if these fail, equipment literally gets blown up, there for it no longer works. When this happens the equipment has to be changed, end of story. So as the strike was some years ago, its safe to say anything that got hit will have been changed.
The one thing that doe not help is rain. If that gets into a major junction box that can upset your BB speed, but of course its not raining when they check.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:57 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6367
Has thanked: 737 times
Been thanked: 777 times
Yep, call Sky first.

As said they will log the fault with BT. Openreach will investigate the fault, but will charge if fault is found in the property.

BT doesn't get any priority over Openreach. They have to log the fault and get allocated an engineer in the same queue as everyone else.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:07 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:01 pm
Posts: 87
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 2 times
I have had the same issue and all I can say is good luck.

I contacted SKY as I had no phone line (neighbours tree was the cause) and they sent out a BT engineer who came in and buggered off to the exchange never to be seen again, still not working. Long story short...6 weeks this went on for, same pattern.
What SKY do is pay for the least BT engineer service of 2 hours, if it is not fixed within 2 hours, they are off and another appointment is to be made.

I kicked up a stink with SKY, gave them 48 hours to respond and resolve if they didnt resolve this time, I was consulting legal advice. As soon as I suggested that, had a guy for 6 hours till it was sorted, got SKY movies & Sports for a year free and doscounted B/Band. Be very assertive with them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:21 pm 
Offline
Communications Expert

Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:04 am
Posts: 170
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 2 times
This is why I always recommend that people choose BT or Virgin for the BB. 3rd party companies like Talk Talk, Plusnet, Sky etc etc give you something in one hand then take it out of the other IE Crap engineering support. At least with BT or Virgin you stand a chance of getting a man and a van out.
You may hit a brick wall when calling BT - you are no longer their customer, so they will not prioritise you.
Good Luck and as soon as possible, go back to BT or Virgin....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO