DIY Forum

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:45 am


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:17 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 63
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
It seems that I need a 3 core cable to my hot water cylinder stat. The only 3 core I can find in the shops has live neutral and earth wires. I know with light switches the neutral can be used for live and should have a red sleeve on it but I am reluctant to use the earth wire with a sleeve. Is there a 3 core cable made that does not contain an earth or is it acceptable put a red sleeve on the earth wire of a cylinder stat?

thanks

Glassescase


Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:06 pm
Posts: 22814
Location: Darwen, Lancashire
Has thanked: 405 times
Been thanked: 635 times
I'm not sure if the cylinder stat requires an earth or not, but you can get three core and earth-

dead link removed

It is also heat resistant, which is a good idea when wiring near a cylinder etc.

_________________
DIY | Diy Videos


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45676
Has thanked: 253 times
Been thanked: 2899 times
You need a 4core Com-1-2-E

Com-1 make on fall.

Com-2 make on rise.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 63
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi thescruff,
4 core? The instructions only show 3 terminals, 1, 2 and C. Is E earth? If using 4 core would I just leave the earth disconected?

Glassescase


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:37 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:23 am
Posts: 103
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 9 times
0.75mm 3 core flex


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45676
Has thanked: 253 times
Been thanked: 2899 times
glassescase wrote:
Hi thescruff,
4 core? The instructions only show 3 terminals, 1, 2 and C. Is E earth? If using 4 core would I just leave the earth disconected?

Glassescase



You need 4 core because you shouldn't use the earth, some stats have an earth terminal you can use.

Brown-Com

Yellow-2.

Blue (sleeved)-1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:02 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:17 am
Posts: 63
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
4 core it is. Was surprised chap in the shop said use 3 core and sleeve the earth. .75 flex?.
This whole job has turned out to be more of a headache then I'd expected it to be.
Nothing has been "easy" and my set up does seem to match the norm and so the instrctions I have with all the products have come up short.

Everyones help and advise is appreciated. A trip to the shops for cable is on the cards for sometime this week.

Glassescase


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:52 am 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:23 am
Posts: 103
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 9 times
shouldn't he check to see if his valves are spring loaded to off before wasting money on 4 core ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 45676
Has thanked: 253 times
Been thanked: 2899 times
glassescase wrote:
4 core it is. Was surprised chap in the shop said use 3 core and sleeve the earth. .75 flex?.
This whole job has turned out to be more of a headache then I'd expected it to be.
Nothing has been "easy" and my set up does seem to match the norm and so the instrctions I have with all the products have come up short.

Everyones help and advise is appreciated. A trip to the shops for cable is on the cards for sometime this week.

Glassescase



If you are having problems with wiring, post what you are trying to do, and with what, and we can help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 2257
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 149 times
sean_ork wrote:
shouldn't he check to see if his valves are spring loaded to off before wasting money on 4 core ?



Its considered good practice to run an earth to all electrical parts of a central heating system. Even if the stat is double insulated , the cable needs to be protected by incorporating an earth conductor.

Nick

_________________
If it isnt broke dont bloody touch it until it bloody well is and if it is broke then make drawing of the connections before you remove the broken one and replace with a new one LoL


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:13 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:23 am
Posts: 103
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 9 times
sparkydude wrote:
sean_ork wrote:
shouldn't he check to see if his valves are spring loaded to off before wasting money on 4 core ?



Its considered good practice to run an earth to all electrical parts of a central heating system. Even if the stat is double insulated , the cable needs to be protected by incorporating an earth conductor.

Nick


my point was that if the stat is just making and breaking why would it need 3 conducting cores ?

whilst it may be a change over switch it's possibly not going to be used as one, hence 3 core will do the job


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 2257
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 149 times
As Scruff jas said the cable needed is a 3 conductor PLUS earth as the connections are COM and 1 make on fall of temperature
COM and 2 Make on rise of temperature

As the OP has stated he needs three cores we are to take it he is wiring a Y plan type of heating system where this is normal wiring practice .

Not saying your wrong, but if he does need three live conductors then your way would see him using the earth as a live conductor and this is prohibited in the wiring regulations.

Nick

_________________
If it isnt broke dont bloody touch it until it bloody well is and if it is broke then make drawing of the connections before you remove the broken one and replace with a new one LoL


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:57 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:23 am
Posts: 103
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 9 times
groan ....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 2257
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 149 times
:wtf: is that meant to mean ????

If you cannot contribute constructive help then whats the point in posting at all ???

_________________
If it isnt broke dont bloody touch it until it bloody well is and if it is broke then make drawing of the connections before you remove the broken one and replace with a new one LoL


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO