DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:10 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Virgin Media Wall Socket
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:10 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:02 pm
Posts: 3843
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Just doing some renovations in the house and I want to tidy up the VM cable that just threads through a wall. What I want to be able to do is use some form of socket on the wall (similar to TV arial socket).

So questions are; Is there a special socket that is required (I'm assuming a TV arial socket is not suitable) and if so where do I get one from? Also, can I cut the VM cable so that I can use the main cable to connect into the back of the socket and use the cut piece to connect one end to the faceplate of the new socket and then the other end into the back of the STB.

Thanks.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:49 pm 
Offline
BANNED
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:48 pm
Posts: 2136
Location: Leicestershire
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 1 times
cutting the cable is not a good idea, you will get a signal loss through the connectors you dont want to lose anymore channels :wink:

I would get a blanking socket front and then drill a hole in the middle and then screw to the wall using plugs and screws


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:02 pm
Posts: 3843
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Cheers tim :thumbright:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:15 pm 
Offline
Communications Expert

Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:04 am
Posts: 167
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 2 times
I think you need screw on F-TYPE connectors and a faceplate.
They have an internal thread that screws down the pushed back copper braid in the co-ax - so no need for crimping tools etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO