Dumb DIY novice question - fixing to plasterboard

Please use this forum for all DIY posts that do not fit into a specific category.

Moderator: Moderators

nt1984
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Dumb DIY novice question - fixing to plasterboard

Post by nt1984 »

Hello! So, I am completely new to any form of DIY, and I've just bought a house with my partner but it turns out he's even more clueless than me :lol:

We have lots of things that need to go on the walls, and I want to learn how to do it because it seems ridiculous to pay someone to do something so (apparently?) simple.

My first task is to hang a bar/rack of 5 coat hooks (all on one structure, 60cm wide). I am assuming a plasterboard wall as it sounds hollow, and I think I can detect some studs from knocking on it. I was planning to use the neodymium (?) magnet method to find the studs. However, I read that the studs should be 60cm apart? The mounts for the fixings on this particular piece are 35cm apart - does that mean I can't fix it to the wall? Does it depend on the weight (which will obviously vary depending on what we hang on it!)? Which would be the best fixings to get?

I am so sorry for the stupid questions, but I really want to learn! This will teach me for choosing a useless boyfriend, haha...

Really appreciate any help :help:

Naomi
dewaltdisney

Re: Dumb DIY novice question - fixing to plasterboard

Post by dewaltdisney »