Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
daytripper
Newly registered Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

Post by daytripper » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:41 pm

Hi all
Looking for a bit of advice on connecting a Gardtec 300 series to a Honeywell AD6 bell box.
I fit and install the odd new system if asked but I mainly do electrical works, but a builder mate has asked me to look at his mother in laws alarm, he gives me quite a lot of work so I said OK.

I have a Honeywell AD6 bell box spare so I thought I would use it.
Today I swooped it over but I cant get the bell to ring in alarm, the strobe flashes and the alarm does as it should apart from the bell does not ring.
The connections I have made are:-

Gardtec 300 series to Honewell AD6
SAB Tamper- to Tamper Rtn (tr-)
Bell- to Bell Trg- (s-)
Bell+ to Supply +
Bell hold- to Supply-
Strobe- to Stobe- (st-)
I HAVE ALSO PUT A LINK BETWEEN STROBE- AND SUPPLY- this allowed taper light on panel to go out
any help appreciated as I am doing this as a freebie
thanks
Richard
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8806
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1486 times

Re: Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

Post by someone-else » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:56 pm

Has it got the Red AND green LED's lit?
And have you moved the timer link?


If you have done the above, bring it down and "Try it on the bench"

You have checked to see you are using the same colours at both ends? sometimes the yellow can fade and you think its white.

(Oh the wiring configuration looks correct.)
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
daytripper
Newly registered Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

Post by daytripper » Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:54 pm

Thanks for the reply, I have been a sparks for over 30 years and I thought I have got the wiring correct which you confirmed and it is definitely yellow not white
.
On the panel there were 6 connections and I have not used the + strobe connection

The LED`S are as you say and the panel sets and goes into alarm with strobe flashing but no sound from siren.

I will look at the timer link but what is it? as I have no installation manual but I will search on line for one.

thanks again
Richard
daytripper
Newly registered Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

Post by daytripper » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:01 am

Hi all in response to my problem with the Gardtec 300 sieries panel and a honeywell ad6 bell box, having slept on the problem another thing has come to light only 1 of the flashing LEDs at bottom of the bell box is illuminated and it is lit all the time not flashing.

I am wondering if I have got the bell holl- and the bell- on the panel the wrong way round.
Richard
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24617
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1315 times
Been thanked: 3617 times

Re: Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

Post by wine~o » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:52 am

Had a similar problem with a different honeywell box, there was a little link (looks like a car fuse but much smaller) that needs moving from "test" to "battery" and although I had moved it it wasn't pushed fully home. I'm not entirely sure if this is the same problem that you have but worth a look.
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8806
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1486 times

Re: Gardtec 300 Series connect to Honeywell AD6 bellbox

Post by someone-else » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:39 pm

daytripper wrote:Hi all in response to my problem with the Gardtec 300 sieries panel and a honeywell ad6 bell box, having slept on the problem another thing has come to light only 1 of the flashing LEDs at bottom of the bell box is illuminated and it is lit all the time not flashing.
I believe both are supposed to be on, one to say it is charging the other to say tamper is ok.
It's in the manual, but as I also said, bring it down and bench test it.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”