Nest Controller with an Ideal FF250 Boiler

Questions about central heating and boiler questions in here please.

Moderator: Moderators

String
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Nest Controller with an Ideal FF250 Boiler

Post by String »

Current System:

Ideal FF250 Boiler
Lifestyle LP522 Controller
Hot water storage tank
Room Thermostat
TRVs

I'm looking to improve my system by adding a Nest controller, but I'm not sure if it's compatible? The improvements I expect from adding a Nest are:

More accurate programs - i.e. more than 4 on/off triggers per day, and different programs per day
Separate control of hot water, particularly in summer when the heating isn't on
Ability to override when having an early night - "OK Google, heating off"
Possibly add some smart TRV's

Before I invest any cash, I'm looking to double check that my system is able to do all this? I'm an electrician so I'm fine with following wiring diagrams etc.. I'm just looking to make sure I don't rip the system apart to find this isn't possible. :lol:

Thanks in advance for any advice received.
Razor

Re: Nest Controller with an Ideal FF250 Boiler

Post by Razor »

Assuming you also have a cylinder thermostat and either a 3 port or two 2 port motorised valves it's definitely possible :salute:
I think I'll take two chickens...
String
Newly registered Member

Post by String »

Would it be fair to assume that all the cabling will be at the LP522 controller and it would be a case of replacing the controller with the Nest "box of tricks"? Or, would I have to start running cables from the boiler, too?

I'll open up the controller and get a look at what's in there.
String
Newly registered Member

Post by String »

I've got the Nest working by placing the control unit where the thermostat was in the circuit, so controlling the heating only.