Recommendations for a digital level please.

All tool questions and recommendations or complaints in this forum please

Moderator: Moderators

jg

Recommendations for a digital level please.

Post by jg »

I'm in need of a digital spirit level for general DIY use. Probably 60cm
I don't get on too well with standard bubble levels, I've had the GemRed one from Axminster for about 7 years now.
Not seen a lot of use, and not been dropped AFAIK not got wet, but it has starting behaving "strangely" sometimes will get stuck on one angle, sometimes will require calibration again and again.
I'm assuming there are no "user servicable parts" :)

I'd like something half decent but not too expensive.
I could just get another GemRed for £32 from axminster.
Seems to be a different model to the one I have

Actually this looks like mine
https://www.axminster.co.uk/gemred-digi ... vel-211592
I paid £40

The Stanley Fatmax is coming in at £75

Any opinions or other options please?

Thanks
I am not a pro.
boxedin

Re: Recommendations for a digital level please.

Post by boxedin »

Job and Knock
Old School Chippie

Post by Job and Knock »

The Bosch and BMI are both good digital levels - but cost significantly more. TBH I tend to use a combination of laser levels and decent spirit levels (in my case Stabila)
"The person who never made a mistake, never made anything" - Albert Einstein

"I too will something make, And joy in the making" - Robert Bridges, 1844~1930

"The fundamental cause of the trouble is that in the modern world the stupid are cocksure while the intelligent are full of doubt.” - Bertrand Russell from The Triumph of Stupidity", 1933
etaf

Post by etaf »

do you have a smart phone - could try the app
i have used on a normal level before , but just general DIYer
Job and Knock
Old School Chippie

Post by Job and Knock »

etaf wrote:do you have a smart phone - could try the app
i have used on a normal level before , but just general DIYer