Moving a double socket higher

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:26 am

So at the moment this double socket (which I'm pretty sure is really a single with an adapter faceplate) is sitting too low and I want to move it higher and in maybe a slightly different location. Potentially the wires may need extending to do this. Is it just a case of using crimps then insulated tape to join? Image

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
User avatar
arco_iris
Senior Member
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location: SW Wales & W Tenerife
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by arco_iris » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:47 am

If you isolate the circuit and remove the single adaptor faceplate (which it is) you will be able to ascertain if the ring main cables come up from the floor (a) or down from the ceiling (b). If in doubt give us a picture of the back box exposed.

(a) chase out up the wall to a new double back box let in to the wall; make the junction/extension with wagos inside the single back box and fit a single blank plate over it.

(b) very carefully chase out around the existing cable by hand up to the point that you want the new back box, you will have enough cable without extending anything.
These users thanked the author arco_iris for the post:
kevinsmbuk
Rating: 7.14%
User avatar
Argyll
Senior Member
Posts: 3806
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:58 pm
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 318 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by Argyll » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:26 am

Wago's are great but personally I'd crimp and heatshrink and cover the single socket with plaster. No point having a blank plate in the wall if there's no need. Particularly if you wish to have higher skirting boards and the blank plate would obstruct that which happened in my case.

I understand wago's would be the quicker option but there's mixed messages whether they are maintenance free (MF) or not so you can't bury them.

I'm not an electrician so maybe an electrician would confirm if wago's are MF or not.
Last edited by Argyll on Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
These users thanked the author Argyll for the post:
kevinsmbuk
Rating: 7.14%
User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:29 am

Ok thanks chaps. So hopefully cables go up (which I'm pretty sure they do) then I will just relocate the box higher rather than moving it. Will fill the old backbox after with bonding/multi.
User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:28 pm

Just to clarify, if wires needed to be extended and plastered over in the wall. Then would crimp connectors and insulation tape be legal?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
User avatar
jaeger
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:07 pm
Location: Wales
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by jaeger » Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:45 pm

There's much debate over using crimp connectors on solid core cable, consensus is it shouldn't be done,
I have and nothing bad has happened yet....

Some Wago are maintenance free so it says on their site http://www.wago.ltd.uk/enclosures/wagobox/
If I was to use these I'd go for the genuine Wago over generic as I read somewhere about the ones from CEF
failing throwing in to doubt their MF credentials.
Screw type 'chocolate bloc' aren't MF though, if used, access for inspection is required.
These users thanked the author jaeger for the post:
kevinsmbuk
Rating: 7.14%
User avatar
Argyll
Senior Member
Posts: 3806
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:58 pm
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 318 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by Argyll » Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:50 pm

There's much debate over using crimp connectors on solid core cable, consensus is it shouldn't be done
Maybe not on this site because this is where I was told to use it from a few members.
User avatar
jaeger
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:07 pm
Location: Wales
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by jaeger » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:09 pm

Just google 'using crimp connectors on solid core cable'
Will tell you more than I can type here.
User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:16 pm

jaeger wrote:There's much debate over using crimp connectors on solid core cable, consensus is it shouldn't be done,
I have and nothing bad has happened yet....

Some Wago are maintenance free so it says on their site http://www.wago.ltd.uk/enclosures/wagobox/
If I was to use these I'd go for the genuine Wago over generic as I read somewhere about the ones from CEF
failing throwing in to doubt their MF credentials.
Screw type 'chocolate bloc' aren't MF though, if used, access for inspection is required.
Thankfully nothing needed extending, but it's interesting to know that information thankyou. The wiring in this house is actually stranded core (it's a 60's house with green goo type outer sheathing!)

New backbox, gromits fitted, flying earth now fitted too. Just got waiting for bonding to go off then will fill the rest, sand and screw faceplate on properly


Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:17 pm

PicImage

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by someone-else » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

kevinsmbuk wrote: (it's a 60's house with green goo type outer sheathing!)
If you have green goo, that is the cable starting to breakdown :shock:
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24624
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1315 times
Been thanked: 3618 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by wine~o » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:43 pm

someone-else wrote:
kevinsmbuk wrote: (it's a 60's house with green goo type outer sheathing!)
If you have green goo, that is the cable starting to breakdown :shock:
Certainly worth getting an EICR done.
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:58 pm

someone-else wrote:
kevinsmbuk wrote: (it's a 60's house with green goo type outer sheathing!)
If you have green goo, that is the cable starting to breakdown :shock:
I thought it depends on the grade/quality of the cable? As I understand it with this type of cable it is the plastercizer in the cable breaking down under relatively low load.

When the kitchen is done we are putting a separate ring circuit in which should reduce load on the rest of the ring anyway.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by someone-else » Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:03 pm

Yes it does depend on the cable, but if it has green goo (and yours does) it is breaking down, there is no cure, it needs to be changed. it is not going to get any better.

The idea of a cable sheath is not only to give it some mechanical protection but to be an insulator too. As the insulation breaks down arcing can occur causing fire.

Don't panic, it's not going to happen in the next ten minutes, but if you ignore it, chances are it will happen.
These users thanked the author someone-else for the post:
kevinsmbuk
Rating: 7.14%
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
User avatar
kevinsmbuk
Senior Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Moving a double socket higher

Post by kevinsmbuk » Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:12 pm

someone-else wrote:Yes it does depend on the cable, but if it has green goo (and yours does) it is breaking down, there is no cure, it needs to be changed. it is not going to get any better.

The idea of a cable sheath is not only to give it some mechanical protection but to be an insulator too. As the insulation breaks down arcing can occur causing fire.

Don't panic, it's not going to happen in the next ten minutes, but if you ignore it, chances are it will happen.
Thanks for the information. So the long as short of it I am looking at a full rewire at some point!
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”