New 50 amp induction wirring help

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:24 pm

Hi there
I’ve just bought new induction hob but unlike oven there are 2 cables that come out the back,one large one,one smaller one.im a bit miffed on connecting these up.any help would be appreciated. :dunno:
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by someone-else » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:56 pm

Seeing as you have the hob and we don't, what do the instructions say?
These users thanked the author someone-else for the post:
Wayne3331
Rating: 7.14%
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:08 pm

How do you post picture I’m on iPad trying to find pic mod ?
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:31 pm

I hope this comes through
Attachments
0A7AFE15-6032-4F13-92CE-B9C5C744E4D0.jpeg
0A7AFE15-6032-4F13-92CE-B9C5C744E4D0.jpeg (153.31 KiB) Viewed 679 times
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:34 pm

Here are the cables
Attachments
B931D953-DA87-4730-BE5B-CE276E6CFC6B.jpeg
B931D953-DA87-4730-BE5B-CE276E6CFC6B.jpeg (296.75 KiB) Viewed 678 times
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by someone-else » Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:15 am

You connect it as per the drawing you have.

The drawing you choose depends on what supply you have (As the drawing shows) you either have a 50A mcb or a 32A mcb and a 16A mcb (again, as per drawing)
These users thanked the author someone-else for the post:
Wayne3331
Rating: 7.14%
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:10 am

So if I’m using drawing on left I have to connect all the lives together then all the neutrals and then earths ect.can you do this in like a junction box and then from that down to dp switch then to 50amp breaker.
User avatar
ericmark
Senior Member
Posts: 2845
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:43 am
Location: Mid Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by ericmark » Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:55 pm

Standard way would be a cooker connection unit, you can get double cooker connection units that will take the two cables. Clearly a commercial induction hob to need so much power.
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24624
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1315 times
Been thanked: 3618 times

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by wine~o » Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:51 pm

Wayne3331 wrote:So if I’m using drawing on left I have to connect all the lives together then all the neutrals and then earths ect.can you do this in like a junction box and then from that down to dp switch then to 50amp breaker.
how you wire it depends entirely on your existing wiring. Pic of the CU and the cooker switch please. (domestic switches are normally rated @ 45 A max)

You can't just replace say a 32 Amp breaker for a 50 Amp breaker without upgrading the supply cable.
These users thanked the author wine~o for the post:
Wayne3331
Rating: 7.14%
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:39 pm

The cable that was there was a 6mm with 40 amp mcb. I have changed this for a new 10mm one with a 50 amp breaker.
Cu is Hager.
Have not purchased a cooker outlet yet as I did not know if there would be anough room to connect the cables in a standard one.
So to recap 50amp mcb to 45amp dp switch to cooker outlet to hob.
The cable length is 5m long and is running in an 18 inch void under the floor if this helps(diversity)
Thanks
Attachments
32281BC9-3379-42E8-B21B-4578FB5CEF9A.jpeg
32281BC9-3379-42E8-B21B-4578FB5CEF9A.jpeg (278.88 KiB) Viewed 565 times
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24624
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1315 times
Been thanked: 3618 times

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by wine~o » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:12 pm

Diversity might help, but I'd be looking at a 50 Amp cooker switch to be on the safe side. They are fugly though..

https://www.screwfix.com/p/crabtree-2-g ... hite/99780

You'll also need the correct backbox
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
Wayne3331
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:17 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by Wayne3331 » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:40 pm

Yes they are lol.
Cheers for the quick reply.
So I know I’m repeating myself so I just need to connect l1 and l2 of larger cable to l1 of the thinner cable and n1 and n2 of larger cable to n1 of thinner cable. And then earths etc into cooker outlet in respective connectors and then 10mm from that to the 50 amp dp switch and then on to cu .
OnlyMe
Approved Electrician
Posts: 2821
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:01 pm
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 602 times

Re: New 50 amp induction wirring help

Post by OnlyMe » Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:54 pm

wine~o wrote:Diversity might help, but I'd be looking at a 50 Amp cooker switch to be on the safe side. They are fugly though..

https://www.screwfix.com/p/crabtree-2-g ... hite/99780
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

https://www.screwfix.com/p/schneider-el ... hite/1658j

My slim line model does not give me a neon evil eye.
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”