Vent-Axia

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
radioman
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Vent-Axia

Post by radioman » Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:32 pm

Hi all I need your help my old vent Axia went busted and i needed a new one . I bought the same model VA100 and wire it up . That where the problem begin, on the terminal block on the vent got L. N SL so I conect the blue cable to the N terminal the Brown to the L terminal and the black to the SL terminal . When I switch on the FCU the vent works But can't control it from the light switch. It's looks like the FCU totally bypassed the light switch . On the circuit diagram on the vent there are isolator switch and pull cord which I don't have . What am I doing wrong ? How can I wire it so that the FCU is ON but the Light Switch control on and on ? At the moment it's permanently on which I don't want . Please help ImageImageImageImage

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by someone-else » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:33 pm

I have to ask, did it work before as you want it to now?

The reason I ask is the FCU
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
radioman
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by radioman » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:41 pm

No the pervious one didn't work at all

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by someone-else » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:20 pm

All is clear. I shall endeavor to explain.

You want to existing light switch to operate the fan, but currently, the only way to turn the fan on or off is via the FCU.

An FCU is only used to "add a fuse" to protect the cable for a new device. (Fan in your case) Usually, an FCU will be fed from the ring main, ring mains are generally rated at 32A. Hence anything smaller requires an FCU.
Lights are usually fed from a 6A MCB (or 5A Fuse) when a fan is installed it is usual to feed it via an isolator which is connected to the lighting circuit. (As the diagram you have shows) Also it can then be controlled by the light switch in whatever room it is installed.

I am 99% sure that your fan is fed (via an FCU) from the ring main, which is why turning the light on or off does not control the fan as the two are NOT the same circuit.

To get it to do as you would like you would need to re wire the fan.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
radioman
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by radioman » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:26 pm

Ok but how do i rewire the fan . You absolutely correct with your explanation. Do I open the FCU or something ?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by someone-else » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:39 pm

Start from new, Follow the diagram you already have.

And yes, the FCU will become redundant, because you are following the diagram.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
radioman
Newly registered Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:54 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by radioman » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:49 pm

So instead of going through the FCU I go through the fuse ?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Vent-Axia

Post by someone-else » Thu Jan 31, 2019 11:44 pm

I never said that.

I did say "Start from new, Follow the diagram you already have"
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”