log cabin - Electrical Advise

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

a18041967
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

log cabin - Electrical Advise

Post by a18041967 »

I'm in the process of installing a summer house which will require electricity, I'm not a qualified electrician but my plan is to purchase and install the hardware and then pay for an electrician to check and certify my work. I have a few questions that I'd like some advice on before proceeding.

I have a garage that has an SWA supply from the main house RCD and this has two circuits one for lighting the other for power, the plan is to feed the summer house from the garage, the circuit will be as follows:

(House RCD -> SWA -> Garage RCD -> Power Circuit) -> SWA 20 metres -> External Power Socket -> Log Cabin

Bold - Existing items

Questions:
SWA cable run, this will be approximately 20m in length, should I use 2.5mm or is 4mm SWA due to cable length? This will be secured to the fence which has concrete posts, not shiplap fencing, I know this can be a bit of a grey area but will this cause problems?

The garage already has a SWA spur of the house mains to an RCD with two circuit breakers, one for lighting and one for power. My current thinking is to connect the new SWA to the existing power circuit in the garage. Can the SWA feed to the log cabin be connected to the power circuit or will a new circuit breaker be required in the garage RCD and the SWA directly connected?

Will a new RCD need fitting inside the log cabin similar to the one fitted in the garage, power requirements will be two dual 3-pin sockets and basic lighting, maybe 12v lights?

I plan to purchase and run cables myself, and then have the connections made in to the existing circuits and certified by a qualified electrician?
Someone-Else

Re: log cabin - Electrical Advise

Post by Someone-Else »