Builder Cutting corners please help

All building related posts in this forum please

Moderator: Moderators

Gillyx
Newly registered Member
Been thanked: 0

Builder Cutting corners please help

Post by Gillyx »

all, really appreciate any help and advice.
I believe the builder I have for my side extension has consistently cuttting corners and not followed plans. I feel like I have been manipulated when raising issues but because I am not an expert I finding hard to challenge and stand my ground.
Possible incorrect sized bi-fold doors ordered and installed - builder stated that insulation between the steel and the top of the door frame was required as per building regs so we nw have a large piece of plastic give the door fame. Approx 20cm
Suspended timber flooring - no battening used to support insulation foam. Foam simply wedged in / DPM not anchored down / no concrete sub floor in places due to drainage installation / air bricks appears to have been an after-thought
Plastic water pipes under the floor not insulated. Is there a risk of possible freezing in future?
No prep work on existing walls prior to 'dot-dabbing' plasterboard on. Adhesive placed directly onto old wall-paper on main kitchen wall
imitation yellow stock to build the exterior wall when he had stated he would be re-using the bricks from the old wall plus any additions neeeded implying he would be using reclaimed London stock - I ended up cleaning the old bricks myself so the wall would look consistent and according to the plan for a conservation area.
Builder stated he was going to skim the existing kitchen ceiling, which was in bad condition. he stated 'the kitchen ceiling was not part of the extension' so not included in the quote. I stated that this should be included as you taking lots of the ceiling down as part of the works.
Builder stated moving the existing external tap would cost extra. I stated this should be part of the works as it was pre-existing.