Doorbell wires

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Chandler21
Newly registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:06 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Doorbell wires

Post by Chandler21 » Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:14 am

Hi all,
I'm after some help installing my Ring Pro Doorbell.
I'm at the section I need to bypass my doorbells transformer but I'm unsure of the wires to connect.
I have attached the photo of the wires 6 wires I have. The wires that lead to my doorbell are 1 yellow and 1 red to one terminal and 1 blue and 1 black to the other.
I'm not sure on the cable to attach to the bridging cable.
Many thanks in advance
Attachments
IMG_0296p.jpeg
IMG_0296p.jpeg (365.64 KiB) Viewed 691 times
IMG_0294p.jpeg
IMG_0294p.jpeg (265.97 KiB) Viewed 691 times
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8801
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1484 times

Re: Doorbell wires

Post by someone-else » Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:51 pm

You should never "Bridge" (as you put it) a transformer. Doing so in effect puts a dead short circuit on it causing it to over heat and possibly catch fire.

If the transformer is no longer required, remove the mains supply (either by switching it off or removing it's adjacent fuse) then connect the two wires that were connected to it together.

If it will work or not depends what is on the other ends of the cables.

But I am under the impression that ring doorbells use the existing transformer?
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Chandler21
Newly registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:06 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Doorbell wires

Post by Chandler21 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:06 am

Thank you for your reply.
Sorry for not being clear, I now have a 24v transformer in my fuse box to power the ring but I need to bypass the power to the mechanical sound.

On the photo, it shows 4 wires each connected to terminals 0,1,2,3,4 and the instructions are as follows.

Identify your doorbell’s power source
The wires on the left (0 and 3) are the wires that power
your doorbell’s physical mechanism (or in electrical
terms, its solenoid or coil), making it produce sound.
If you look closely, you can see thin wires from terminals
0 and 3 going to the hidden solenoid.
By contrast, terminals 1 and 2 are connected directly
to each other via a thin wire (meaning they aren’t
providing power to your doorbell).

In my case, I have 6 wires as per the attached photo so I'm unsure of the wires I need to connect as per the instructions to bypass my doorbell.
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8801
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1484 times

Re: Doorbell wires

Post by someone-else » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:32 pm

I am confused? :?

You want to install a ring doorbell, you want to bypass your existing transformer, but you post a picture of your door bell.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”