LED strip lighting

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
tonk
Newly registered Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:08 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 0

LED strip lighting

Post by tonk » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:23 am

Hello all.
I'm installing the strip-light below.
I cant take my feed from the lighting circuit otherwise, sheets of plasterboard removed etc
Assuming, I can use local double socket, to a switched FCU and then use supplied cable to strip-light.
Would I use a 3amp fuse?
Great for your feedback please.
Tonk.


•Linkable Under Cabinet LED Striplight fitting
•Voltage: 240v
•Supplied with 2m cable
•Up to 50,000 hours lamp life
•Linkable
•Integral driver
•Connect direct to the mains
•Available with cool white or warm white LED
User avatar
kellys_eye
Senior Member
Posts: 10338
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 290 times
Been thanked: 1559 times

Re: LED strip lighting

Post by kellys_eye » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:55 am

Confusing..... do you want to use the lighting supply? (which is ok) or do you want to run it from a twin socket (ring main) and FCU?

You can't put a 13A socket on the lighting supply but you can put an FCU as a spur off one - assuming it isn't already spurred.
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....
ahfix
Senior Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:25 am
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: LED strip lighting

Post by ahfix » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:57 am

Don't these usually come with a transformer plug? Don't be tempted to cut it off and wire into the FCU
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8877
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1498 times

Re: LED strip lighting

Post by someone-else » Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:20 pm

ahfix wrote:Don't these usually come with a transformer plug? Don't be tempted to cut it off and wire into the FCU
Depends where you buy it, but you do have a valid point.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
tonk
Newly registered Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:08 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: LED strip lighting

Post by tonk » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:31 pm

Thanks for your notes

The product in question: SL-LED
https://www.lightsupplier.co.uk/led-striplights/

Web site does not mention a transformer.
I can't use the lighting circuit, as too much effort required.
So to confirm, I will feed 1.5mm twin and earth cable from a double socket (Ring main / not spurred) to a switched FCU, then use the lead supplied to the strip light.
any concerns, Tonk
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8877
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1498 times

Re: LED strip lighting

Post by someone-else » Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:01 pm

Its confusing as to what you are buying, I guess we all assumed it was LED strip, its not, its led strip in a box with power supply in the same box.

I wouldn't buy it myself, as it must have a feeble powersupply (capacitive dropper) which do work but are cheap and fail often. I would buy LED strip and a vaguely decent powersupply. But that's me.

As for your connections, one major error.
You always use the same size cable as is already used when spuring from a ring, so you should use 2.5mm T & E NOT (as you said 1.5mm T & E)

Apart from that, yes, ok.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
User avatar
ericmark
Senior Member
Posts: 2865
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:43 am
Location: Mid Wales
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 568 times

Re: LED strip lighting

Post by ericmark » Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:02 am

tonk wrote: Assuming, I can use local double socket, to a switched FCU and then use supplied cable to strip-light.
From a double socket using a plug yes, but why would you want to? from behind the double socket depends on the supply, we have four methods of supplying a socket.
1) Ring final circuit with 32A protection.
2) Radial circuit with 20A protection.
3) Spur from above with 13A protection.
4) Spur from ring final with no extra protection.
With the latter we are limited to one device, it could be a single socket, or double socket or FCU but "or" is the word not "and" so if already an unfused spur from a ring final you can swap it to a FCU but not add a FCU.

There is a way around it, in a way cheating, but using a grid switch quad plate you can make a double double socket size unit with single socket and a fuse plus one extra unit like a switch, or in your case two fuses one direct to lights and one to socket which is now a fused spur so you can add more sockets.
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”