Extension cord for 12v DC

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
ayjay
Senior Member
Posts: 8377
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 1420 times

Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by ayjay » Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:30 pm

Not sure if this fits electrical or vehicle maintenance, so in the search for a wider audience I'll stick it in here. :-)

Got a hoist fitted in the front of the van now to lift the wife in and out. It plugs in to a socket which is tricky to get at: the fitter did say that he wasn't able to mount the unit any other way. I can get the plug in and out (needs doing each time it's used) but it's harder than is ideal.

I'm thinking that a short extension lead could be left in and would give me much easier access.

Is there a specific name for this type of plug?

Is it something I could buy the bits for make up myself?
1 modified.jpg
1 modified.jpg (387.42 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
2 modified.jpg
2 modified.jpg (445.91 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
3 modified.jpg
3 modified.jpg (318.44 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
4 modified.jpg
4 modified.jpg (299.84 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
5 modified.jpg
5 modified.jpg (487.39 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
Yes, that's a bit of me, naked, in pic 4. :shock: :mrgreen: Calm down, it's only a bit of a leg. :roll:
One day it will all be firewood.
User avatar
Job and Knock
Old School Chippie
Posts: 6356
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:27 pm
Location: Lancashire
Has thanked: 629 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by Job and Knock » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:18 pm

It looks like an IEC plug. Extensions are available from CPC Farnell, amongst others
These users thanked the author Job and Knock for the post:
ayjay
Rating: 7.14%
"The person who never made a mistake, never made anything" - Albert Einstein

"I too will something make, And joy in the making" - Robert Bridges, 1844~1930

"Success is 99% failure" - Soichiro Honda
Rorschach
Senior Member
Posts: 3684
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 747 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by Rorschach » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:19 pm

It's an IEC connector. Easy to find as bare plugs for you to make your own little extension. I use one for powering my lathe powerfeed even though it's rather overkill.

I dont see any reason you couldn't leave the extension plugged in all the time, the contacts are enclosed in the male part.
These users thanked the author Rorschach for the post:
ayjay
Rating: 7.14%
User avatar
kellys_eye
Senior Member
Posts: 10338
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 290 times
Been thanked: 1562 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by kellys_eye » Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:07 pm

Some older PC systems used to use such an extension to take AC from a socket on the back of the PC case to the monitor.

Here's one I found first go on eBay although there are cheaper ones on there too.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/IEC-2M-10-Am ... 0281.m3567

Sometimes cheaper (and certainly easier) to get one 'made up'. If you have a local PC repair shop anywhere nearby, drop in and ask for one - they'll probably have a bucket load.
These users thanked the author kellys_eye for the post:
ayjay
Rating: 7.14%
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....
User avatar
ayjay
Senior Member
Posts: 8377
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 1420 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by ayjay » Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:31 pm

Thanks all, just got to find an old kettle lead now to check that it fits, I must have one somewhere.
One day it will all be firewood.
User avatar
ayjay
Senior Member
Posts: 8377
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 1420 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by ayjay » Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:26 pm

ayjay wrote:Thanks all, just got to find an old kettle lead now to check that it fits, I must have one somewhere.
No kettle leads found, I must have chucked out the two old and slightly leaky kettles put aside for an emergency and only kept the old and slightly leaky one with a sit-on base. (I'll probably trip over one tomorrow).

I did find a PC lead which fits just fine, so an extension is on it's way from eBay. :-)
One day it will all be firewood.
User avatar
arco_iris
Senior Member
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location: SW Wales & W Tenerife
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by arco_iris » Sat Jun 23, 2018 9:41 pm

Too late now of course but Plus 1 for CPC Farnell, Plus 77 for old fashioned computer shops and, probably, car boot sales. One of your neighbours probably had one in his shed/loft. Fleabay should have been cheap enough to avoid running around.

Yes leave the extension plugged in, the female end will be safe when disconnected.

Technically, for anybody else looking, it is an IEC C13 (male) to C14 (female) lead rated for 70°C. Kettle leads (C15/C16) are officially very slightly different for higher temperatures.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_60320
User avatar
ayjay
Senior Member
Posts: 8377
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 1420 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by ayjay » Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:41 pm

arco_iris wrote: Fleabay should have been cheap enough to avoid running around.
£1.49 & free postage - eBay does save a lot of running around, although I must have wasted an hour looking for my old kettle leads! :cussing:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/0-5m-Power-E ... 1438.l2649
One day it will all be firewood.
Grumps
Senior Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Worcestershire/Warwickshire/Gloucestershire (ish)
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by Grumps » Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:52 pm

ayjay wrote:
ayjay wrote:
I did find a PC lead which fits just fine, so an extension is on it's way from eBay. :-)
Best wishes. I'd just say that I'd be wary of the Amps. Not of the connector, moreso the cable.

Do you know what size fuse the 'fitter' fitted (sounds like a tongue twister :roll: ) as that will determine the size of cable needed for the extension lead.
User avatar
arco_iris
Senior Member
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:27 pm
Location: SW Wales & W Tenerife
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by arco_iris » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:00 pm

Grumps wrote:
ayjay wrote:
ayjay wrote:
I did find a PC lead which fits just fine, so an extension is on it's way from eBay. :-)
Best wishes. I'd just say that I'd be wary of the Amps. Not of the connector, moreso the cable.

Do you know what size fuse the 'fitter' fitted (sounds like a tongue twister :roll: ) as that will determine the size of cable needed for the extension lead.
Whilst proprietry IEC leads are available with 0.50mm2, 0.75mm2 & 1.00mm2 cable for different loads, at Ayjay's 12 volts this is unlikely to be an issue.
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by someone-else » Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:56 pm

arco_iris wrote: at Ayjay's 12 volts this is unlikely to be an issue.
Sorry to not agree. Its not the voltage that is the problem, its the current, so it can be an issue, cable too thin could easily melt if too much current is drawn.

Take an Arc welder as an example. Typical output voltage is around 48. But the current can be anything around 120A +
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Rorschach
Senior Member
Posts: 3684
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 747 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by Rorschach » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:30 am

someone-else wrote: Typical output voltage is around 48. But the current can be anything around 120A +
More like 24v at that kind of amperage (assuming 13amp plug).
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1487 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by someone-else » Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:13 am

Rorschach wrote:More like 24v at that kind of amperage (assuming 13amp plug).


I googled it, (I thought the voltage was lower) seems that most are 48v (open circuit voltage) and yes on a 13A plug, it was the current that varies, if its has a 20A supply not the voltage (one that went up to 150A said you only get 120A on a 13A plug, but around 150A on a 20A supply)
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
User avatar
ayjay
Senior Member
Posts: 8377
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 1420 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by ayjay » Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:23 am

It hasn't blown up yet.

The plug fitted by the manufacturers is 10amp, as is the one I bought, the extension cable I bought is slightly thicker in appearance if anything, just by a mm or so.

I'll not be losing any sleep over it. :-)
One day it will all be firewood.
Grumps
Senior Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: Worcestershire/Warwickshire/Gloucestershire (ish)
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Extension cord for 12v DC

Post by Grumps » Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:59 pm

someone-else wrote:
Sorry to not agree. Its not the voltage that is the problem, its the current, so it can be an issue, cable too thin could easily melt if too much current is drawn.
That is the point I was making. Amps is a function of Watts/Volts.

For any given 'load' a lower Voltage will result in a higher Amperage.
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”