Outdoor socket from Garage

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

infaddict
Newly registered Member
Been thanked: 0

Outdoor socket from Garage

Post by infaddict »

Hi everyone, first post so be gentle :-)

Firstly, I'm not an electrician and realise the work I require is covered by Part P and notifiable. I will therefore be getting a sparky in to do the actual work, but I like to research my requirements, understand the work and decide whether to buy the hardware myself if cheaper. So this is advice to help with that, not to complete the full job myself.

I have a 5 year old house with external garage. The garage came with power supplied, via a large SWA from the house, to a consumer unit on garage wall with 2 MCB's, one for lighting (single bulb) and one for sockets (1 double socket). I have photos of the house consumer board and garage consumer board attached for more info on fusing etc. In the house, the garage MCB is a B16 alongside a 80A RCD. In the garage itself, the lighting MCB is B6 ad socket MCB is B16, with a main switch (63A).

I want a double external socket fixed to outer wall of garage, conveniently the same wall as the garage consumer unit, only 2-3 metres away. There is a spare (blank plate) in the garage consumer unit which could be used. My question is around connecting a IP66 double socket (13A) to the outside of the garage wall, hopefully coming through the wall to inside the garage and up to the consumer unit.

My questions:

1) Is there enough capacity on the system (house and garage consumer units) to take an additional double socket?
2) What size MCB would be preferred in the garage consumer unit, to connect the double socket?
3) What size wiring would be preferred to run from garage MCB to outdoor socket?

House consumer unit picture: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MjNVYs ... sp=sharing
Garage consumer unit picture: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Fuf5bH ... sp=sharing