DIY shed wall and roof material (pics)

Wood working questions and answers in here please

Moderator: Moderators

The Engineer
Newly registered Member

DIY shed wall and roof material (pics)

Post by The Engineer »

I'm currently in the process of building my own shed as my sizing requirements are unconventional.

I've framed it using 3x2 and allowed an opening for a window.

T&G cladding will be used for the front and sides. The rear will be up against fencing and hence thought I would board that as it's not visible.

I also want to board the roof and then add tiles. The tiles are more for aesthetics rather than functionality.

Question is what board material so I require and how do I make it waterproof?

Here's a few pics of the build so far.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk
The Engineer
Newly registered Member

Re: DIY shed wall and roof material (pics)

Post by The Engineer »

P.s. I'm a novice at best so any ideas, suggestions or help is much appreciated [emoji106]

Argyll

Post by Argyll »

For the roof you could use either OSB3 or external grade plywood. OSB3 would be the cheaper alternative than plywood.

I can't understand why you would want to board the back and sides. I would have thought T&G cladding would be the cheaper option. External plywood is good for the roof and floor but I personally wouldn't use it to board the side of a shed as it will eventually de-laminate. It wouldn't last as long as the T&G cladding.

Not sure where you are located but you should leave at least 1 metre space from your boundary so you can get access to the shed to paint it etc.
The Engineer
Newly registered Member

Post by The Engineer »

Argyll wrote:For the roof you could use either OSB3 or external grade plywood. OSB3 would be the cheaper alternative than plywood.