Protecting a new Picnic Table/Pub Bench

Painting and decorating, plaster mouldings, Artexing questions

Moderator: Moderators

Silver
Newly registered Member

Protecting a new Picnic Table/Pub Bench

Post by Silver »

Hi guys,

I've had very little experience with protecting garden furniture and am really confused as to what to use exactly..oil/stain/paint etc

The Picnic table is new and made from Swedish Redwood, pressure​ ​treatment​ ​Tanalith​ ​E.

I would very much like to be able to see the grain after treatment and a slight satin sheen would be nice too.

So would very much appreciate advise on what best to use..brands and links most welcome lol

Edit : Just to add the Picnic Table has not been painted/stained/oiled where I'm buying it from.
OchAye

Re: Protecting a new Picnic Table/Pub Bench

Post by OchAye »

:welcome:

Howdy Silver. Oil is the best "preservative". Teac oil or something like this http://www.liberon.co.uk/product/garden-furniture-oil/. Not sure what trousers/skirt you should wear to figure out if the bench is not giving out the oil though. Oil as often as you can and protect during the winter.

Also check this company https://www.osmouk.com/ for any exterior oils. Their products are highly regarded.
These users thanked the author OchAye for the post:
Silver
Rating: 7.14%
Silver
Newly registered Member

Post by Silver »

Hi and thanks for the reply OchAye and welcome, I am looking into the osmo products and I see they have a range for decking. Since Decking would be high traffic I'm guessing the product would need to be even tougher than the normal garden furniture stuff ...I might be wrong though.

Right now I'm thinking between getting the Decking oil or their Natural Oil Woodstain
These users thanked the author Silver for the post:
OchAye
OchAye

Post by OchAye »