External lights

All electrical lighting questions in here please. Including outside lighting and light switch / dimmer questions.

Moderator: Moderators

Mr fixit
Newly registered Member
Been thanked: 0

External lights

Post by Mr fixit »

Hi all

I work as a HGV vehicle mechanic. Im a keen diy’er and im currently refurbishing my house .ive learnt how to do Plastering,plumbing, flooring ect my main hobby is playing the guitar & drums ive built a music studio down the garden. And I need some help/advice i have 2 flood lights one on the house shining down the garden and the other on the music studio shining towards the house. I would like to be able
To switch them on & off from either position. I have a 3 core & earth cable in place via ducting to the 2 switches as yet not connected I intend to supply power to them from the spare in the consumer unit in the music studio

Cheers
OnlyMe
Approved Electrician

Re: External lights

Post by OnlyMe »

:welcomeuhm:

If this is PVC 3 core and earth you cannot run it through external ducting. The ducting will, no matter what you do, fill with water. You are going to have to swap the cable for SWA etc to do the job properly.
Mr fixit
Newly registered Member

Post by Mr fixit »

Hi

Many thanks for your reply. The ducting is as used by the telecoms industry its compartmentalised & carries all power, broadband, coxial, phone line, alarm line cables, in individual fully sealed air/water tight compartments and is laid under ground to termination points inside both the music studio & my workshop the cables are then run via internal conduits to their various points also the main duct is connected to my air compressor with a pressure gauge and is kept at 40psi please could you advise on how best to connect my previous question

Cheers kev
Someone-Else

Post by Someone-Else »

Just for clarification.

You want to be able to switch both lights on / off at the same time, but from two locations? and you only have 3 cores between the two?