Power Cord Help

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:21 pm

Hi all

I have recently purchased a second hand JVC X70 projector, unfortunately it did not come with a power cord. It was just to ask if anyone would be able to tell me the correct power cord I should get?

I have attached a picture showing the electrical information and power cord input on my projector.

Appreciate anyone's input
Attachments
20180322_121452_crop_775x780.jpg
20180322_121452_crop_775x780.jpg (373.42 KiB) Viewed 989 times
20180322_145035-800x600.jpg
20180322_145035-800x600.jpg (116.52 KiB) Viewed 989 times
User avatar
big-all
Pro Carpenter
Posts: 21183
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 636 times
Been thanked: 1897 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by big-all » Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:39 pm

standard cord just make sure the fuse is the correct size in the plug at 3/5/7/10or13amp
These users thanked the author big-all for the post:
RadX
Rating: 7.14%
we are all ------------------still learning
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:12 pm

big-all wrote:standard cord just make sure the fuse is the correct size in the plug at 3/5/7/10or13amp
Hi thanks for your quick reply! Would something like this be ok/ standard cord?
https://www.amazon.co.uk/C2G-0-5m-Power ... ZR9BG&th=1

I think this has a 13 amp fuse and max current of 10 amps. The projector only says 1.4A so 10A sounds very high! Am i right in thinking the projector will only draw 1.4A at 240V and the rest of the available amps will not be used,?
User avatar
kellys_eye
Senior Member
Posts: 10338
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 290 times
Been thanked: 1559 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by kellys_eye » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:39 pm

The fuse protects the cable, not the equipment. That lead (commonly called a 'kettle flex') is perfectly suited.
These users thanked the author kellys_eye for the post:
RadX
Rating: 7.14%
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24690
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1325 times
Been thanked: 3632 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by wine~o » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:42 pm

swap the fuse in the plug for 3 Amp.
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:51 pm

kellys_eye wrote:The fuse protects the cable, not the equipment. That lead (commonly called a 'kettle flex') is perfectly suited.
Thank you! I found a cheaper one which i think i may go for instead :-)
https://www.amazon.co.uk/unbranded-RB-2 ... ms?ie=UTF8

After a quick read about fuses i now know that the fuse should be only slightly higher than the current the device draws. Since the projector only draws about 2A i think this new power chord should be better as it is rated at 5A instead of 13A. Please let me know if this is a load of rubbish!
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:54 pm

wine~o wrote:swap the fuse in the plug for 3 Amp.
Hi wine~o seen this after i had just replied, so do you think a cable with a 3A fuse is what i should get instead of the 5A one?

Appreciate your thoughts
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 8881
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1500 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by someone-else » Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:18 pm

as kellys_eye said, the fuse is to protect the cable, not the device at the other end, so in your case get which one you like but change the fuse to a 3A

You are also right with your statement of how much your projector will draw.
These users thanked the author someone-else for the post:
RadX
Rating: 7.14%
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:21 pm

someone-else wrote:as kellys_eye said, the fuse is to protect the cable, not the device at the other end, so in your case get which one you like but change the fuse to a 3A

You are also right with your statement of how much your projector will draw.
Ah ok thanks i think it is starting to make a bit of sense. The projector will draw roughly 2A at 240V from the mains, by changing the fuse to 3A i am making sure that the circuit will cut off at anything above 3A therefore stopping the high current reaching the device or burning the cable?
User avatar
big-all
Pro Carpenter
Posts: 21183
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 636 times
Been thanked: 1897 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by big-all » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:35 pm

the only reason i mentioned other amperages is because you can use the lead off any old computer/kettle/tv you have lying about in the house as long as it fits and the fuse fitted is greater than 3amp :lol:
we are all ------------------still learning
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:31 pm

big-all wrote:the only reason i mentioned other amperages is because you can use the lead off any old computer/kettle/tv you have lying about in the house as long as it fits and the fuse fitted is greater than 3amp :lol:
I think I will go for a cheapo kettle cord and then replace the fuse with a 3A one as suggested. Should only cost around £5 all in :-)

Thanks for all the input guys, I learned something about fuses today!
User avatar
big-all
Pro Carpenter
Posts: 21183
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 636 times
Been thanked: 1897 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by big-all » Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:53 pm

have you thought about using any old lead to check the projector works before investing in a new lead :dunno:
we are all ------------------still learning
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:30 pm

big-all wrote:have you thought about using any old lead to check the projector works before investing in a new lead :dunno:
I did think about that before i posted on here, but didn't know if i would blow up the projector by using the wrong cord :lol:

Not sure if i have any 3A or even 5A kettle cords, but i will have a look tomorrow. Think i may have one from the TV which i guess would work well for testing purposes. Either way i think i will have to buy a new one as i doubt any i have are long enough, but for £5 i wont complain :mrgreen:
User avatar
big-all
Pro Carpenter
Posts: 21183
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 636 times
Been thanked: 1897 times

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by big-all » Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:34 pm

it is irrelivent what the cord is if it fits it will work the ah as in 13a is the fuel tank so makes no difference provided its the minimum required or more it will work
we are all ------------------still learning
RadX
Newly registered Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:22 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Power Cord Help

Post by RadX » Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:53 pm

big-all wrote:it is irrelivent what the cord is if it fits it will work the ah as in 13a is the fuel tank so makes no difference provided its the minimum required or more it will work
Thanks i think i understand that, for normal use it will make no difference as the projector will only draw what is needed, as as long as it is above the minimum it will work. But it's still safer to use with a 3A fuse, right? :oops:
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”