16 amp socket in garage

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
ashleywood.ash
Senior Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:26 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times

16 amp socket in garage

Post by ashleywood.ash » Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:27 am

Hi guys
Since having a new consumer unit fitted in my house my mug welder now constantly trips with initial power source (damn new electric set up making things all safe)
Anyway is there a way I can add a 16amp socket in my garage relatively easily?
It's not a big welder only a 105.

Current setup is garage has its own fuse on consumer unit that is rcd protected.
Garage is detached and cable runs under floor to an inline fuse in the garage itself that then powers 3 strip lights and 3 double sockets.
I can't really change the existing cable or run a new one due to oak flooring in concrete floors.

Cheers
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24624
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1315 times
Been thanked: 3618 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by wine~o » Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:51 pm

Pic of your garage consumer unit please ??
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
multiman
BANNED
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:38 am
Has thanked: 689 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by multiman » Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:00 pm

And details of welder model may help as well

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk
ashleywood.ash
Senior Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:26 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by ashleywood.ash » Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:26 pm

Sorry I don't think I was overly clear.
Garage doesn't have its own consumer unit, it has its own switch/fuse on the house consumer unit (so it's not part of the house ring circuit or a spur etc)
The wire then runs to the garage from the consumer unit and has a single inline fuse, the type that you turn on and off like a light switch. Then wires run from this to the lights and sockets.

Welder is a sip 105 migmate mig welder.
multiman
BANNED
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:38 am
Has thanked: 689 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by multiman » Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:38 pm

Right so looking at manual that should not demand more than 6amps seems like you have faulty welder or electric wiring issue have you tried welder inside house to see if it trips on that circuit ?

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk
ashleywood.ash
Senior Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:26 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by ashleywood.ash » Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:16 pm

No
I'll try that first then.
Thanks
These users thanked the author ashleywood.ash for the post:
multiman
Rating: 7.14%
User avatar
wine~o
Senior Member
Posts: 24624
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1315 times
Been thanked: 3618 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by wine~o » Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:23 pm

6A welder is not so hot. What breaker do you have in the CU for the garage circuit ?
These users thanked the author wine~o for the post:
multiman
Rating: 7.14%
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk
User avatar
ericmark
Senior Member
Posts: 2845
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:43 am
Location: Mid Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: 16 amp socket in garage

Post by ericmark » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:43 pm

I would think 105 is output amps rule of thumb output is 25 volt plus 1 volt per 25 amp so likely 29 volt so simple maths 29 x 105 = 3045 / 230 = 13.24 amp. This is with no loses and not counting inrush. So if what I say is correct if an inverter welder it may just about work on a 13 amp outlet, if however the old transformer type a D16 MCB is the smallest MCB which could supply it.

In the main a supply to a garage is just about enough to run a few lights and a drill, my mothers garage if fed from the ring final with a 13A FCU. I can't quite work out what you have, but is seems likely you need a dedicated supply for a welder.
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”