All building related posts in this forum please

Moderator: Moderators

26hoggy
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Garage too high

Post by 26hoggy »

Hi need some advice, I'm not a builder and I'm completely new at this so forgive my ignorance.

I'm having a large detached garage built at the bottom of my garden, we submitted planning permission for it to be 4 meters high (pitched roof) and it was granted.

Due to the steel I beam being a lot taller than expected it's now 100mm too tall, planning control have had complaints from the neighbours saying it's not being built to the plans and now want to come round and measure up next week.
My question is how lenient do you think they would be on a pitched roof that's 100mm too high?
davyp1

Re: Garage too high

Post by davyp1 »

26hoggy wrote:Hi need some advice, I'm not a builder and I'm completely new at this so forgive my ignorance.

I'm having a large detached garage built at the bottom of my garden, we submitted planning permission for it to be 4 meters high (pitched roof) and it was granted.

Due to the steel I beam being a lot taller than expected it's now 100mm too tall, planning control have had complaints from the neighbours saying it's not being built to the plans and now want to come round and measure up next week.
My question is how lenient do you think they would be on a pitched roof that's 100mm too high?
:welcomeuhm:

Your question is a rather difficult one to answer, but I would like to ask some of my own which may give me a clearer picture!
  • Was a drawing for the Garage (showing the 4M height criteria) provided to your builder for him to quote against?
    How has your builder reacted when you informed him of the complaints and the forthcoming inspection?