CONTACTORS - wiring confirmation sought please

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Pou Sto
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

CONTACTORS - wiring confirmation sought please

Post by Pou Sto »

G’d Evening Everyone

I am not an electrician and have never wired contactors before so at the risk of making a fool of myself in this my first post - even after having spent ages googling for info - I shall really appreciate if someone in the know can confirm whether or not what I am proposing to do is correct.

I am replacing the original 15 amp rated 1960’s thermostats which control electric under floor heating with Heatmiser thermostats Model PRT-E (13A resistive load, not the later 16A model which weren‘t available at the time when I bought them). Whilst most of the under floor heating circuits are about 2kW and can be connected directly to the thermostats, the lounge under floor heating circuit is 3.8kW and at 240V will exceed the thermostat’s 13A resistive load limit so it is for this circuit that I am planning to use a Hager ESC225 contactor module (situated in the attic in its own enclosure where hopefully it’ll not be heard).

I have a power supply coming from a 16A RCBO to the flush steel box in the lounge wall where I’m proposing to place the thermostat; in an adjacent flush metal box I have two cables which I plan to use between the contactors in the attic and the thermostat, one to extend the live and neutral from the under floor heating to the contactors, the other to receive the output from the thermostat to control the contactors. There is also a further power supply from a 16A RCBO to the contactors position in the attic.

So arriving at my question , can you please confirm that my wiring at the contactors should be: