How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler.

Energy saving questions in here please

Moderator: Moderators

eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:31 pm

thescruff wrote:Does that mean the boiler hasn't got an earth. ?
Seems that way. The cable from it is only a 2 wired cable.
User avatar
thescruff
Senior Member
Posts: 49686
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 3723 times

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by thescruff » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:37 pm

Would have been nice to give it one whilst you're at it.
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:41 pm

thescruff wrote:Would have been nice to give it one whilst you're at it.
How would I do that ?

I take it that it meant having to open up the boiler casing to get at the circuit board in the boiler and run a earth from there to the stat and connect up the mains 3 pin plug earth ?
User avatar
thescruff
Senior Member
Posts: 49686
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 3723 times

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by thescruff » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:45 pm

That's right, it will mean opening the wiring centre/ control panel on the bottom.

It would give you the chance to re-position the receiver.
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:48 pm

thescruff wrote:That's right, it will mean opening the wiring centre/ control panel on the bottom.

It would give you the chance to re-position the receiver.
That's too much work :)

So long as the current setup will not harm the new stat, I'. happy with it as it is. Never feel comfortable playing with gas apparatus !
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:52 pm

thescruff wrote:Ok can the receiver go where the old timer is.

Connect the plug wires blue to N and brown to L.

Connect the brown in 1 to B.

Connect the blue in 2 to N.

Link L to A

If there's a docking post for the earth stick the wire in it otherwise make it safe.
Quick question.

I am in the process of connecting this up. But why is there a need to link L to A when A is not used in the wiring ?
User avatar
thescruff
Senior Member
Posts: 49686
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 3723 times

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by thescruff » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:54 pm

Depending on which model it will be something like this.
Attachments
eclat-02-09-12.jpg
eclat-02-09-12.jpg (53.78 KiB) Viewed 1057 times
User avatar
thescruff
Senior Member
Posts: 49686
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 3723 times

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by thescruff » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:56 pm

eclat wrote:
thescruff wrote:Ok can the receiver go where the old timer is.

Connect the plug wires blue to N and brown to L.

Connect the brown in 1 to B.

Connect the blue in 2 to N.

Link L to A

If there's a docking post for the earth stick the wire in it otherwise make it safe.
Quick question.

I am in the process of connecting this up. But why is there a need to link L to A when A is not used in the wiring ?
Exactly as I wrote it please.

A is com, and put power on B when calling.
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:59 pm

thescruff wrote:
eclat wrote:
thescruff wrote:Ok can the receiver go where the old timer is.

Connect the plug wires blue to N and brown to L.

Connect the brown in 1 to B.

Connect the blue in 2 to N.

Link L to A

If there's a docking post for the earth stick the wire in it otherwise make it safe.
Quick question.

I am in the process of connecting this up. But why is there a need to link L to A when A is not used in the wiring ?
Exactly as I wrote it please.

A is com, and put power on B when calling.
ok, thanks. Just curious and wondering.
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:35 pm

UPDATE:
Just thought I'd let you know that I've just completed the installation. Took a bit longer than expected. Had difficulties fitting 2 wires (boiler + mains) into the small screw connector on the stat. But got there finally and everything seems to be working well.

Thank you all for your help, and especially to thescruff. You're the greatest !! :) Take care !
User avatar
thescruff
Senior Member
Posts: 49686
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 3723 times

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by thescruff » Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:47 pm

Well done. :thumbright:

The live has two connections you can use, the neutral you could have used a small connector block.

Can I go and play snooker now :mrgreen:

24 hour till we start the defence of our title. :boxing:
These users thanked the author thescruff for the post:
eclat
Rating: 7.14%
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:03 pm

thescruff wrote:Well done. :thumbright:

The live has two connections you can use, the neutral you could have used a small connector block.

Can I go and play snooker now :mrgreen:

24 hour till we start the defence of our title. :boxing:
Good luck to the defence of your title. Stay well.
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:54 am

UPDATE QUESTION

I just noticed that the pump and the pipe near it is warm even though everything is switched off at the mains. Only the pilot light is on in the boiler. Is this normal as I have never noticed this before as there was no reason for me to hang around this part of the boiler in the past ?

Thanks for the clarification.
User avatar
thescruff
Senior Member
Posts: 49686
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 360 times
Been thanked: 3723 times

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by thescruff » Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:44 am

It's normal if the boiler has come on, otherwise it needs investigating.

Explain switched of at the mains.

Where is the pump in relation to the boiler, could it be residual heat from when you tried it yesterday.

It's best not to turn the plug off on the stat, instead turn the htg off on the stat
eclat
Newly registered Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to install a Room Thermostat on my condensing boiler

Post by eclat » Mon Sep 03, 2012 8:02 am

thescruff wrote:It's normal if the boiler has come on, otherwise it needs investigating.

Explain switched of at the mains.

Where is the pump in relation to the boiler, could it be residual heat from when you tried it yesterday.

It's best not to turn the plug off on the stat, instead turn the htg off on the stat
I only turned on the boiler for about 3 times for aboyut 4 minutes each time yesterday to test that the CM927 installation works after I installed it. Then everything is switched off and the stat relay is unplugged from the mains 3 pin plug. So the boiler is not getting any electrical supply for it fired up even though the pilot light is left on. The on/off switch on the boiler is also set to the off position.

Surely the residual heat from yesterday could have have still be around after over 12 hours ? I thought the heat could have been from the pilot light ? That would be the only source of heat nearby

The pump is just above the boiler, about 6 inches above it.
Post Reply

Return to “Energy Saving”