ANT control, help & ideas?

Please use this forum for all DIY posts that do not fit into a specific category.

Moderator: Moderators

gib_goblin

ANT control, help & ideas?

Post by gib_goblin »

We've just moved into an 1930's mid terrace 2 bedroom house.

It has new carpets ontop of floorboards, this morning we found a trail of Ants in the middle of the sitting room carpet. Leading back to the corner of the room and disapearing into the skirting, there is a slight gap where the old skitting has warped/shrunk, its only a couple of mm's.

We also have a 7 month old baby and really want to avoid using any kind of ant powder or poison if possible.

Has anyone got experience or ideas for getting rid of ants?
ultimatehandyman
Site Admin

Post by ultimatehandyman »

I'm no expert on ants I am afraid, but this might help-

http://www.pan-uk.org/pestnews/homepest/ants.htm
skiking
Has thanked: 0

Post by skiking »

Since we moved into our house (7 yrs ago) we have been plauged with ants in and around the kitchen. I've informed my missus that they are good and helpful around the house - as per the link you gave above UHM - but all I get back is 'get rid of the bloody things' :lol: - she doesn't like them.

Ants have a habit of using the same route. For me, and this has happened due to some internal structural work I've carried out, I've now blocked up the cracks between the floor and the wall either with cement or caulk.

I don't like using chemicals - got kids! so I have found sealing up the cracks is the best method. So far this year, inside I've been ant free. Outside is a different matter but I can live with that :shock:
moon133
Been thanked: 0

Post by moon133 »

Nippon Liquid is good (I know you said about the chemicals but...)