Kodak Printer

All your computer hardware and software questions in here please.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Barrysh
Newly registered Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:43 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Kodak Printer

Post by Barrysh »

Hi, I have been given a Kodak printer which I am assured is in working order but it's power lead is missing. Manual says only use Switching Adapter 36v DC @ 0.9A supplied. The printer is a Kodak ESP C310. I will have to have a look on Ebay for one but am I limited exactly to that model and rating. Not very tech savvy so hope you understand . Thanks
User avatar
etaf
Senior Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:27 am
Location: West Sussex, on coast
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Kodak Printer

Post by etaf »

are you 100% certain it works, seen quite a few kodaks of that model stop working, in fact we had a couple of years ago and it stopped.

you will need the correct voltage 36V DC , if that is what it says it needs - 0.9A can be rated higher on the adapter - Not lower
Simple DIYer
Wayne
User avatar
Someone-Else
Senior Member
Posts: 11673
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1986 times

Kodak Printer

Post by Someone-Else »

You have been given a printer that you are told works, but how could it if it does not have a power supply?
You have to spend money on a power supply for a printer that may or may not work that will probably need more ink.

To be honest, its probably going to cost more than a new printer will to fix / get parts.

I do not know how good it is, but you can get an all in one (brand new) for £25 click here
Above are my opinions (All this is my signature.)


Would you hit a nail with a shoe because you don't have a hammer? Then why work on anything electrical without a multi meter? Just because it works, does not mean it is safe

:mrgreen: If gloom had a voice, it would be me.

:idea1: A video of how to resize / rotate and add pictures to your post can be found if you Click Here

Please use the preview button before you post pictures
User avatar
big-all
Pro Carpenter
Posts: 22278
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 678 times
Been thanked: 2081 times

Kodak Printer

Post by big-all »

i would never ever buy a "cheap printer" they are cheap to tie you in to overpriced cartridges
even when you can get generic they can often be "chipped " to stop things working
if its cheap then make sure 100% it can be definatly bypassed to use generic cartridges
we are all ------------------still learning
dewaltdisney
Senior Member
Posts: 12018
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 2418 times

Kodak Printer

Post by dewaltdisney »

I had a Kodak printer and I would have given it away too. It was cartridge hungry and even though they made a thing about the cost of the cartridges being cheap (not that cheap)you can not refill them as there is an electronic chip in the cartridge that once set to empty cannot be reset. I dumped mine and got an HP Deskjet which was on offer in Tesco for £20.

My advice is do not spend any money on it, dump it.

DWD
User avatar
Someone-Else
Senior Member
Posts: 11673
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 1986 times

Kodak Printer

Post by Someone-Else »

big-all wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 10:09 pm
i would never ever buy a "cheap printer" they are cheap to tie you in to overpriced cartridges
But isn't that the same with which ever brand of printer?
Above are my opinions (All this is my signature.)


Would you hit a nail with a shoe because you don't have a hammer? Then why work on anything electrical without a multi meter? Just because it works, does not mean it is safe

:mrgreen: If gloom had a voice, it would be me.

:idea1: A video of how to resize / rotate and add pictures to your post can be found if you Click Here

Please use the preview button before you post pictures
User avatar
ayjay
Senior Member
Posts: 9823
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 454 times
Been thanked: 1697 times

Kodak Printer

Post by ayjay »

someone-else wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 11:27 pm
But isn't that the same with which ever brand of printer?
I've got a Canon printer (TS5050) which was about £60 when new, I can get a full set of 5 compatible cartridges for £12.99, (5 as it has a photo black as well as a print black).

I would say, don't buy an Epson, my last printer was an Epson, again, I could get cartridges cheap, but the printer clogs up with ink if it's not used regularly, and the built in cleaning programme makes it worse by chucking more ink on top of the clogged up ink in the hope that it will somehow disappear.
One day it will all be firewood.
User avatar
big-all
Pro Carpenter
Posts: 22278
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 678 times
Been thanked: 2081 times

Kodak Printer

Post by big-all »

someone-else wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 11:27 pm
big-all wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 10:09 pm
i would never ever buy a "cheap printer" they are cheap to tie you in to overpriced cartridges
But isn't that the same with which ever brand of printer?
yes thats the point
thats why i say check the running costs over a few years rather than upfront in :thumbleft: isolation
we are all ------------------still learning
Post Reply

Return to “Computers”