Customer won't pay

Grumpy people only in here please

Moderator: Moderators

LadySpark
Newly registered Member

Customer won't pay

Post by LadySpark »

OK so the most notable thing about this story is that it happened on 23rd December. I may have acted differently on another day.

Job advertised as electrician on my builder. Work described as fix fan and ceiling light in bathroom, put up bathroom shelf, put up bathroom mirror and seal around bath. Urgently needed before Christmas. I am a qualified electrician but not incapable of a little DIY and the non-electric jobs seemed easy enough.

Met the customer, a single elderly lady but not frail and not vulnerable, perfectly capable of knowing what she was doing.

Fixed the light/fan, put up the shelf (which turned out to be a floating shelf and rather fiddly), put up the mirror and sealed around the bath. Customer happy with everything except the seal around the bath, which she described as "too thick". The gap was big, the silicon I was replacing was a huge line but it was, indeed, thicker than the seal around the sink. Interestingly (with hindsight), she asked for my insurance details so she could get someone in to fix it. I said that I wanted her to be happy and I would fix it immediately. I really do care about leaving happy customers but, honestly, I also didn't want an insurance claim pushing my premium up for a line of silicon.

Then I dropped my drill battery onto her toilet cistern. The cistern lid fell off and cracked the toilet bowl. It was around noon on 23rd December. I apologised profusely. Again she asked for my insurance details so I looked them up on my phone and gave them to her.