Hanging Doors...

Wood working questions and answers in here please

Moderator: Moderators

Troy
Newly registered Member
Been thanked: 0

Hanging Doors...

Post by Troy »

Hello all! This is my first topic, other than my introductory one.

I’m an Apprentice Carpenter who was tasked with hanging my first few doors today at work. Things went “OK” but I don’t feel like there was an efficient or effective way to hang these doors that was standing out to me, I’m usually left to my own devices as I’m normally quite independent but there isn’t always someone around to seek guidance from either. I have some more to hang and install tomorrow too so I’m asking for some advice, “do’s and don’t’s”, any recommend tools on how to quickly and accurate hang doors, including handles, locks and latches etc...

Thanks in advance!
big-all
Pro Carpenter

Re: Hanging Doors...

Post by big-all »

heeelllooo and welcome Troy :welcome: :welcome: :welcome:
what are you skills level i assume its little tricks your after and not how to do the job :dunno:
we are all ------------------still learning
fin

Post by fin »

always put a leading edge on both the hinge side and the latch side.

it makes the doors swing and latch better and its possible to achieve nice gaps all around and also helps to stop the door being hinge bound on old frames. or even new ones if someone else has fitted them sh*t

what i do to achieve this accurately on more expensive doors is to use my track saw set to say 2 or 3 degrees and put the splinter strip to the edge of the door where the hinge knuckle would be and cut a slight bevel along the length.

obv for the latch side its the same sort of craic from the same face of the door.

you can also buy a router bit that achieves the same effect.

hinges i do 6 inches from the top and 9 from the bottom unless its going in an existing frame and tyhe hinge cutouts are neat i re use those so mark the door to suit. also for heavier doors one in the middle