Digital TV

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
sdplumb
Newly registered Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Digital TV

Post by sdplumb » Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:39 pm

Hi All, Hope someone can help!!?!!
I have SKY+ in the living room and now want to move it 2 meters to the otherside of a wall into another room. Th problem is the cable is not long enough, so i have tried to extend with some digital cable and digital conectors. When i do this i cant get a signal(obviously i have done something wrong) SKY+ use 2 cables into the back and i have tried to extend both with normal digital cable and conectors.
I have moved a normal sky box the other way conecting the same way and this works fine.(this has only 1 digital cable in the back).
Can someone tell the correct way to sort this problem plaese?
I hope this makes sense.
Cheers
User avatar
sparkydude
Senior Member
Posts: 2254
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:11 pm
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 149 times

Post by sparkydude » Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:18 pm

Are you sure you have used the correct joiners?? The ones you need are the ones with a screw on connector on them , and the centre core is left poking through the middle. You need to make sure that the joiners are making a proper contact and that you have not got the 2 cables crossed as i think this stops it from working. Normal co ax cable is just not up to the job as are coax plugs and couplers . you have to use a CT100 or equivalent cable and the proper f type connectors to make sure the jobs done properly

Nick
If it isnt broke dont bloody touch it until it bloody well is and if it is broke then make drawing of the connections before you remove the broken one and replace with a new one LoL
sdplumb
Newly registered Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Post by sdplumb » Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:58 pm

Hi Sparkydude, Thanks for the reply. I think i have the correct joiners, because as i say i have moved a normal sky box the other way and connected an extension.
I brought the cable from Focus, maybe thats the problem i'm going to look for some CT100 cable like you say.
Help!! I thought this would be quite straight forward. Huh should have known better.

Any more ideas would be great. :?
ban-all-sheds
BANNED
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 5:40 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Post by ban-all-sheds » Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:10 am

This place:



http://www.avforums.com/forums/index.php



is good for specialist advice..


I'm sorry - I can't come in to work today, the voices are telling me to stay at home and clean the guns.

[size=9][color=white].[/color] [/size]
sdplumb
Newly registered Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Post by sdplumb » Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:14 pm

Thanks thats has sorted it!!! :grin:
User avatar
sparkydude
Senior Member
Posts: 2254
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:11 pm
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 149 times

Post by sparkydude » Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:37 am

Great glad to hear it. What was the problem in the end then just so we know for future reference incase anyone else wants to do the same.

Nick
If it isnt broke dont bloody touch it until it bloody well is and if it is broke then make drawing of the connections before you remove the broken one and replace with a new one LoL
tim'll fix it
BANNED
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by tim'll fix it » Sat Jan 27, 2007 12:13 pm

strictly speaking it is bad practise to join your sky cables as you will get a signal loss throught the connectors and this may affect your picture

but if it works fine
sdplumb
Newly registered Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Post by sdplumb » Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:36 pm

It was a silly thing, I went to maplins and was advised of the connectors i needed. But as it turned out they were the wrong sort even though maplins said they were correct. So i bought some more from B&Q and they did the trick.
Type F Connectors are the correct sort for anyone who needs to know.
They looked exactly the same as the maplins ones apart from the inside.
So, as you quite rightly sugessted Sparky Dude it was the connectors. :-).
And when i went to the sky forum alot of people were saying the same thing as you, this made me look into it further.
So thanks and thanks to ban-all-sheds, and Tim'll fix it thanks also, it has redueced my signal slightly on the reading but not alot, because it is only a 2 meter extension.
So thanks all for your input. :-)
tim'll fix it
BANNED
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by tim'll fix it » Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:14 pm

it isnt the length that really affects the singal strength but the loss through a connector

but if it works then fine
Post Reply

Return to “Electric Forum UK”