Need some acrylic plastic cut for a science project!

All Questions about Acrylic in here please.

Moderator: Moderators

jebus197
Newly registered Member
Been thanked: 0

Need some acrylic plastic cut for a science project!

Post by jebus197 »

Hi I am a mature science student studying in Newcastle in the UK. In any case I have a bit of a problem, in that I need someone with a band saw to cut some acrylic shapes for me. These shapes are mainly hexagons and triangles.

I searched the internet high and low looking for acrylic that was thin enough and stiff enough to meet my purposes. However I kept running over the same problem which is that most coloured perspex sheets that are for sale appear to come in a minimum thickness of 2 mm, which is just too thick for what I am trying to do. Anyway After a lot of thought, I struck on the idea of making my shapes from coloured plastic CD Jewel cases like the ones here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005 ... 00_s00_i00

They have one completely smooth surface and are pretty much the ideal thickness and stiffness for my project.

However I live in a tiny flat in Newcastle and don't have access to a bandsaw that can cut this kind of plastic, hence why I have ended up here.

Can anyone help? In essence what these shapes will represent is molecules, like DNA etc. and they will be used as teaching aids to help young disadvantaged kids learn about science.

This is probably one of the more unusual requests you will get on this forum, but hopefully it's interesting enough for someone to want to do it too.

The shapes will all be drawn out, so all anyone needs to do when they get the CD cases is cut them out. Having nice smooth edges would be helpful too if possible as it would be useful to avoid the kids hurting themselves.

So if there's any takers and if anyone wants to do something for science, feel free to let me know!

PS