Long gone are monitors

All your computer hardware and software questions in here please.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 10350
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 1763 times

Long gone are monitors

Post by someone-else »

When I had my first Desktop PC it had a monitor, all you could plug into it was a VGA cable. That was the same for many many years, then came along the advent of the cheap TV, not only was it a TV but it had other sockets and things too (Built in DVD player) VGA socket, big socket for a future expansion (Still never seen what goes into it) and more recently HDMI socket, oh and Freeview.

My OH got a new desktop PC, a gaming one (Not that she plays games, but it is better than my PC) I plugged it into the monitor via the VGA cable and the PC boots but nothing on the screen, so I plugged in my TV via the HDMI cable, it now has a display, but not 100% as no matter what setting I adjust the screen does not fit the TV either too big icons too small, her new (20 inch) TV arrived today, plugged it in, perfect, and I mean perfect.

Obviously it has to be one of the settings, that was not compatible, but wondering where (no, just wondering) since the pc has not been changed (Its brand new) and neither has my TV but the new TV "knew nothing" and when plugged in they work perfectly together.

As I said, just wondering why a new TV worked and the old TV didn't.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.


Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here

Video of how to resize / rotate pictures can be found on This page
Bob225
Senior Member
Posts: 4154
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 752 times

Long gone are monitors

Post by Bob225 »

Its resolution the older tv will only run 1366x768, a new pc will default to 1920x1080

as for the large tv, it due to windows 10's scale and layout - right click on the desktop - display settings
User avatar
someone-else
Senior Member
Posts: 10350
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 1763 times

Long gone are monitors

Post by someone-else »

oh, because it is older it can not "cope"
Thanks for that.
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.


Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here

Video of how to resize / rotate pictures can be found on This page
Post Reply

Return to “Computers”