Is 50mb broadband enough

All your computer hardware and software questions in here please.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
DCOL89
Newly registered Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:22 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Is 50mb broadband enough

Post by DCOL89 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:19 am

Hello,

Looking for help. I currently have 100mb broadband at home but the price has shot up so looking elsewhere and looking at dropping to 50mb fibre nd was just wondering if that will be enough speed. We have two children who use their kindles, we stream netflix/prime and can all be on it at one time. Also connected to the internet are two WiFi security cameras, amazon alexa and hive.

Thank you in advance.
gas4you
Senior Member
Posts: 7117
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 883 times

Is 50mb broadband enough

Post by gas4you » Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:07 pm

My speed averages around 50mb and I stream amazon and sky and have several things connected at once.

Never had a problem so far.
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk
User avatar
Dave54
Senior Member
Posts: 4259
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 1081 times
Been thanked: 991 times

Is 50mb broadband enough

Post by Dave54 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:16 pm

^ Similar, have 50mb, can be streaming Netflix, and surfing / running a YouTube video on two tablets at the same time.
Never had a problem. Netflix say 3Mb for standard definition, and 5Mb for HD.
User avatar
etaf
Senior Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:27 am
Location: West Sussex, on coast
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Is 50mb broadband enough

Post by etaf » Sat Feb 01, 2020 3:06 pm

i have 36mb and can stream video from netfix and amazon on separate devices, often have the Radio streaming as well and other device attached, but this is the exception, usually only 2 people here , so used for general browsing, radio streaming, etc
Simple DIYer
Wayne
OchAye
Senior Member
Posts: 4601
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:33 pm
Location: Dundee, Scotland.
Has thanked: 827 times
Been thanked: 949 times

Is 50mb broadband enough

Post by OchAye » Sat Feb 01, 2020 5:05 pm

There are two further issues to consider. If you are on copper wire i.e. openreach network, if the claim is 50Mbps you will get less than that, plenty of speed checkers on-line that will give you the average for your area. If you are consider optical cable to the house which sounds like what you had (Virgin) then the above does not apply, in theory anyway.

Under either connection the crunch is the throughput your provider can give you especially at busy times of the day. Some providers have a much better reputation than others, and some may purposefully throttle your connection.

All I am getting at is, there is a bit more to it than the "claimed" speed.
Post Reply

Return to “Computers”