Grease Advice

All tool questions and recommendations or complaints in this forum please

Moderator: Moderators

dewaltdisney

Grease Advice

Post by dewaltdisney »

I opened my Echo hedge clipper drive box expecting to see white lithium grease. Whats is in there is dark and I am not sure if this is from use or if I can use the grease I have which is this https://www.carlube.co.uk/product/moly- ... isulphide/ to top it up. The existing grease is packed around the edge of the case and it is quite dense.

It lubricates the reciprocating motion of the two clipper blades so I am thinking it will be okay as it says it sustains heat, not that it gets that hot after prolonged use.

I have no experience in these matters so any guidance appreciated.

DWD
Rorschach

Grease Advice

Post by Rorschach »

Your grease is probably much better than they used originally.
These users thanked the author Rorschach for the post (total 2):
Dave54 (Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:07 pm) • dewaltdisney (Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:55 pm)
Rating: 14.29%
Dave54

Grease Advice

Post by Dave54 »

Rorschach wrote: Fri Sep 11, 2020 2:22 pm Your grease is probably much better than they used originally.
That's what I think.
TBH, I use what's in the gun, usually moly, unless it's something super critical, like, er, like something super critical. :-)
I think I've said before, my petrol hedge trimmer's years old and still going strong. Gets a couple of pumps of grease every use.
These users thanked the author Dave54 for the post:
dewaltdisney (Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:54 pm)
Rating: 7.14%
dewaltdisney

Grease Advice

Post by dewaltdisney »

Great, so as I have the cover off shall I just add a blob and spread it evenly to fill the housing or just smear the moving bits?

Thanks

DWD
Dave54

Grease Advice

Post by Dave54 »