DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:04 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Video doorbell voltage
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:41 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:30 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hey guys
Do we have any knowledgeable sparky's here?

I have a new video doorbell coming which states it requires 16-24 VAC

Having looked at the current wired doorbell i have, it has an 8v transformer inline.

Now im guessing I need to upgrade that transformer and i'd assume that I will need to change the chime unit too.

Does anyone have any experience in this and know where i can get these items?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
If your existing "chime unit" runs on 8v then putting 24v through it will not do any good, so I would say it is not required as the video door entry systems I have seen have their own internal chime.

Have you a link for the new video door bell? Most come as kits with all major parts included. If it hasn't got a power supply yu can get one from ebay.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:15 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:30 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
If your existing "chime unit" runs on 8v then putting 24v through it will not do any good, so I would say it is not required as the video door entry systems I have seen have their own internal chime.

Have you a link for the new video door bell? Most come as kits with all major parts included. If it hasn't got a power supply yu can get one from ebay.


Its not actually released yet (March) but it doesnt come with a chime or power supply. It does come with a "bypass kit" which allows it to work with existing mechanical or musical bell chimes, but im not sure exactly what that bypass kit is.

I know the video bell will work fine without a chime, but it would be nice to have an audiable notification as well as on my phone.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/netvue/belle-from-doorbell-to-doorman?ref=nav_search&result=project&term=belle


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
I can only guess but I would say the "bypass kit" is a relay to operate what ever. So you can keep your existing door chime.

For the power supply, I would still get one from ebay. (I have a 5v one for my LED pixels, its a well built power supply)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : TorukUK
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:41 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:30 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
I can only guess but I would say the "bypass kit" is a relay to operate what ever. So you can keep your existing door chime.

For the power supply, I would still get one from ebay. (I have a 5v one for my LED pixels, its a well built power supply)


would that be instead of the transformer?
Do you have a link for what im looking for?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
You will need both, one to run the new "video door bell" and the other to run your "ding dong" door bell. (which you already have)

I would wait until your new kit arrives to find out what exactly is required and what you actually get with it. (Pointless buying something now if one comes with your new door bell) You may even need a cat5 cable

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : TorukUK
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO