DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:35 am
Visit Thermo worx

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

Post subject: Using a planer
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:35 pm 

I'm new to planers and I was wondering how you plane a big piece of wood that's wider then my 82mm planer without getting grooves in the wood?

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Using a planer
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:40 pm 
BANNED

I'm fairly sure that I've seen various solutions to this 'problem' on YouTube - but 'fraid I can't give you a URL.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:27 pm 

I tried there but couldn't see anything

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:23 pm 

It is hard to do it with an electric planer as it is taking too much off each pass. You really cannot beat a hand plane for this job. I have a thicknesser that planes wide boards but you still have to touch up after to take out the slight ripples.

DWD

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:34 pm 

My own feeling is that you can't do it all with an electric planer - not even a Festool! You can get pretty close by using the electric planer set to a very fine cut (i.e. 0.3mm or so) on the final passes and moving it very slowly - but you won't get perfection. In fact even with hand tools some scraping (hardwoods) or sanding (softwoods) is generally required to achieve and acceptable surface. This is especially the case with power planers as it is impossible to camber the blades to avoid the "tracking" which sharp edged blades always produce.

OK, I'm an "old school" chippie, so please don't ask me to do a bodge job - I didn't bring my horse today and in any case you don't seem to have a hitching rail!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:35 am 
BANNED