DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon May 20, 2019 12:18 am


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:25 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hello

If anyone can advise me, it would be much appreciated. As I am going to be redecorating soon, I would like to upgrade my old Proscon Room Thermostat, as it is very discoloured. I cannot see any model number on it, but it is pre 1994!! Just a dial with temps on it. Still working fine. (I have an old Baxi Boiler which I will be changing soon). Which of the Room Thermostats would I be able to have in it's place?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:48 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8695
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1479 times
Almost any one, you choose. (Don't got for a "smart stat")

I would suggest you do not have a battery operated one as the battery will go flat in the middle of the night. (I found out the hard way)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : Pog
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:55 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for the reply. Does it matter about wiring? Don't really know what I am on about, but do some have 2 or 3 wires?? I just don't want to buy the wrong thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:50 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8695
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1479 times
Some have two wires some have 3, you will not know until you take the cover off the old one.

I have Image these. Mine works on two wires, but its supposed to have 3

Less than £20 from screwfix

I chose this model as it doesn't need batteries, is only about 1 degree out, and has a nice "click" when the temperature is reached and its easy to turn, better than the new-fangled electronic rubbish

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Oh thank you so much. I will get my brother to take the cover off and check how many wires there are and then go from there. Your help is very much appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:36 am 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8695
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1479 times
If you do, take a clear, in focus picture of the whole thing (So you can see / know for reference what colour wire goes where)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:26 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hello

Ok, so we have taken the cover off. Hopefully these pictures have worked! (sorry about the dust inside!). It says Proscon Type PBF10 inside the cover. I am looking at either a Honeywell T6360, or the Drayton one that you sent a picture of. It looks like there are three wires at the right, and one at the left? I just don't want to order the wrong type, so any help would be most welcome!!

Attachment:
Therm.jpg
Therm.jpg [ 116.95 KiB | Viewed 288 times ]


Attachment:
Therm 2.jpg
Therm 2.jpg [ 136.43 KiB | Viewed 288 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:06 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8695
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1479 times
........... :cb the picture of the stat is too blurred, can you take a better one please. (take several only post the ones that are in focus) The picture of the stat cover is excellent, and you could blow the dust off, or a DRY paint brush, NOT a vacuum cleaner.



Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 181.84 KiB | Viewed 276 times ]



Although you can see in the pics they are stats, its easier to see when in focus.


Attachments:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 189.9 KiB | Viewed 276 times ]

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:09 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi there

Sorry it has taken so long. Had to wait for my brother to call! Hopefully these pictures are not too bad. Not as much dust now!! Thank you so much for your help!!

Attachment:
Therm 4.jpg
Therm 4.jpg [ 109.51 KiB | Viewed 202 times ]


Attachment:
Therm 3.jpg
Therm 3.jpg [ 111.84 KiB | Viewed 202 times ]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:42 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hello there

If anybody could help with this it would be much appreciated. I need to order a new Room Thermostat, but don't want to order the wrong one!!

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 5:04 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8695
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1479 times
Much nicer and clearer picture :-)

Why not get the one I mentioned? (Just like mine) If not any 2 wire or 3 wire stat should work, bear in mind what I have said previously.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:06 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi

Thank you so much. I will get the same one that you have. I will order it now. You have been so helpful. I will let you know if we have any problems with fitting it!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:46 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8695
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1479 times
Just remember to make sure the boiler is electrically off before you change the stat. I can just unplug mine.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2019 12:53 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:13 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hello

Well he tried to fit it. He was testing the wires with a meter and there was a big bang and blue flash. Stupid I know! He insisted that he didn't need the power off to test the wires. I suppose that means the old thermostat is completely dead now. Then someone else had a look at it for me, but was unsure of the wiring.

Anyway, since then, I have hot water, but the radiators do not seem to be getting warm?? This must be related to the flashing incident!! I am going to have to get a professional in to fit the new thermostat, but I don't want them trying to make it into a bigger job, if it is only the new thermostat that needs fitting? Any ideas??

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2019 2:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24461
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1560 times
Been thanked: 3909 times
Chances are by shorting out the thermostat you will have blown a fuse (or worse) in the boiler PCB or the CH controller, best get an RGI in to sort it.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO