DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:37 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 4:49 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:54 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,
We've recently had a rewire done and the original plan was to run a 9.5kW shower but it's now running off the combi-boiler instead so I have a 10mm2 cable that goes into the consumer below with a 40A MCB.

Now decided to put a couple of double sockets up in the loft so was wondering what's the best and safest to go about it?

Thought about these options...
1. Attach 10mm2 directly into a 13amp double socket - imagine that's quite difficult and would restrict running other double sockets off it?
2. Replace cable with 6mm2 and MCB with 32A, same as the house sockets.
3. Buy an new mini circuit board often seen in garages and attach 10mm2 cable to that then run several sockets off it.

Anyone give any advice on what they would do?

Cheers,
Paul


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
It's your choice,

1) That I would like to see.

2) I don't see the point of changing the cable to a smaller one, and then what would you do with the 10mm?

3) Guess

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:05 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:54 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Can you suggest a mini circuit board that would do the job mate? E.g a screwfix or toolstation link? Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
Either place sell them, it's your choice. (I might like "this one" and you may think its cr*p, so that's why its your choice)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 9:11 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:54 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I'll have a look. Is it a problem that there will effectively be two RCDs protecting this circuit? Is a device attached in the loft causes a fault which consumer unit will trip?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 7:42 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2632
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 570 times
dualweaponword wrote:
Hi,
We've recently had a rewire done and the original plan was to run a 9.5kW shower but it's now running off the combi-boiler instead so I have a 10mm2 cable that goes into the consumer below with a 40A MCB.

Now decided to put a couple of double sockets up in the loft so was wondering what's the best and safest to go about it?

Thought about these options...
1. Attach 10mm2 directly into a 13amp double socket - imagine that's quite difficult and would restrict running other double sockets off it?
2. Replace cable with 6mm2 and MCB with 32A, same as the house sockets.
3. Buy an new mini circuit board often seen in garages and attach 10mm2 cable to that then run several sockets off it.

Anyone give any advice on what they would do?

Cheers,
Paul


Terminate the 10mm cable into a 60A Junction box and run 2.5mm cable from there to the sockets. Then swap the MCB for a 32A one if the sockets are a ring or a 20A one if it is a radial.

Small edit. I notice neither Screwfix or Toolstation seem to sell 60A junction boxes. So an alternative to that, if these are the only two shops you going to use is to use a cooker connection point instead of a junction box.

eg https://www.screwfix.com/p/british-gene ... /45080#_=p


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO