DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:42 am


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: UNI-T UT30B Multimeter
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3569
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 396 times
I have the above multimeter. I only use it for checking the voltage on 12v batteries and continuity, It's started to register fully charged 12v batteries as 16 to 17 volts when it should be between 12.7 and 13.2. It's a fairly cheap one but I don't want to buy a new one if it's something that can be fixed. So can it be fixed or is it time for the bin?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:56 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8496
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1443 times
Cheap multimeters are generally not repairable (No user serviceable parts) But I would ask when did you last change the meter's battery?
Also have you tried checking the voltage on something else (try your car battery)
And how about checking the resistance of each lead in turn ? Unplug one and put the probe end into the socket that had the lead a moment ago.

If both show ok, and you decide to bin the meter, keep the leads.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3569
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 396 times
Cheap multimeters are generally not repairable (No user serviceable parts) But I would ask when did you last change the meter's battery?

Last year I think but i would have thought the screen would be blank if a flat battery rather than register high voltage.


Also have you tried checking the voltage on something else (try your car battery)

I've tried it with several 12v batteries. All registering high voltage.


And how about checking the resistance of each lead in turn ? Unplug one and put the probe end into the socket that had the lead a moment ago.

If both show ok, and you decide to bin the meter, keep the leads.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:56 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8496
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1443 times
Argyll wrote:
Last year I think but i would have thought the screen would be blank if a flat battery rather than register high voltage.


Not being too pedantic, I never said flat battery.
Yes, a totally flat battery will mean no display, but I have found that cheap meters give "odd readings" when the battery is starting to fail. (I have no idea why, they just do, and a new battery solves the problem, but having said that, there was a time when a new meter with battery, cost less than a decent battery.)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10338
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 349 times
Been thanked: 1828 times
Does it read high on ALL the DC voltage ranges? You should be able to see 12V on the 20, 200 and 500V ranges.

Can you check an AC voltage too? See if the calibration is out on more than just the DC ranges.....

You CAN adjust the calibration pot but it's unusual to find it changing without good reason - sharp knock, water ingress etc.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : Argyll
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:11 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3569
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 396 times
Quote:
Does it read high on ALL the DC voltage ranges?


I'll try it tonight as I left it at home.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:55 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 3245
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 666 times
silly questions, have you turned it off and on again (aka removed the battery) are the leads in the normal terminals


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3569
Has thanked: 911 times
Been thanked: 396 times
Bob225 wrote:
silly questions, have you turned it off and on again (aka removed the battery) are the leads in the normal terminals


:thumbright:

I use this everyday to check voltages on batteries but it suddenly started acting up. I'll do as KE and SE suggests and test on different settings and change the battery.

I would have thought though as a safety precaution if the battery were low if would stop working as opposed to giving erratic readings.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2761
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 556 times
No they do not all fail safe, I have had meters giving odd readings due to battery voltage being low, and had an AVO motor vehicle meter which showed I was drawing 40 amps when pressing PTT on transceiver, which had that really been the case would have melted the thin cable.

Again had an AVO Mk 8 where DC spot on, but AC well out, some one had replaced the germanium diode with silicon. The more electronics the more it can go wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:58 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10338
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 349 times
Been thanked: 1828 times
In the case of a modern device like the Uni-T it will be a 'one chip wonder' with all the electronics on a single chip so it would be more likely to be a go-no-go situation rather than some inbetween problem hence checking the battery and connections as a first port of call.

These units do have adjusments for calibration but I doubt they'd offer more than a +/- 10% adjustment.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO