DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:51 am
Visit Hilti

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:09 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi! Noob here. I repressurized my Worcester Greenstar boiler from just under 1 bar to 1.5 bar yesterday. I was then away overnight. When I returned home today, the pressure was up at over 2.5 bar. The heating was off throughout all this, however the boiler does very occasionally fire briefly to keep a ready supply of hot water. What could have caused the extra pressure increase? Thanks!

(I've repressurized once before, a few months back, nothing strange happened that time...)

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:15 pm 

SITELATEFU wrote:
Hi! Noob here. I repressurized my Worcester Greenstar boiler from just under 1 bar to 1.5 bar yesterday. I was then away overnight. When I returned home today, the pressure was up at over 2.5 bar. The heating was off throughout all this, however the boiler does very occasionally fire briefly to keep a ready supply of hot water. What could have caused the extra pressure increase? Thanks!

(I've repressurized once before, a few months back, nothing strange happened that time...)

Did you close off the plastic nut on the filling loop properly AND remove the plastic key from the filling loop?

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:20 pm 
Pro Carpenter

heeelllooo and welcome SITELATEFU :welcome: :welcome: :welcome:
is it possible you have left it cracked open so its still pressurizing but over hours rather than quickly
is it making other funny noises like occasional relieve valve action to reduce the overcharge a bit :dunno:
ok chrrriss beat me to it :lol: