DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:27 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Under cabinet lighting
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:25 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi

I've moved into a house which was wired up for under cabinet lighting in the kitchen, but was never installed. Would quite like to finish the job, but don't really know what I need to complete the job and how easy it will be.

Attached is a picture of the black boxes under the cabinets. There is already a light switch which we are told are for the under cabinet lighting, so I am assuming I just need the actual lights?

I've had a look for under cabinet lighting and most appear to come with a plug so not sure where to look.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks


Attachments:
IMG_20170715_210020.jpg
IMG_20170715_210020.jpg [ 38.98 KiB | Viewed 456 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6560
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
I just looked on line, there are lots of lights that are designed for "under cabinets" that do not have a plug. (What i like you may not, so it's your choice)
You would just need to connect which ever light you buy to the junction box you have. (You did take the lid off of the junction box, didn't you?)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: multiman, Provaci
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:03 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Most under cabinet light don't have plug some do send us a link and we can confirm if there is no transformer you can cut plug and wire in direct to find live you place common wire onto earth and the other wire on to blue or black the one that gives 230v will be your live.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk



For this message the author multiman has received gratitude : Provaci
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:27 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Thank you both. Attached is a questionable sketch of the layout of the kitchen (measurements in cm). I'm looking at different options such as getting a couple of these:

http://cpc.farnell.com/unbranded/20311/gabi-4-way-led-under-cabinet-light/dp/LA06162

But not sure whether these would work or give enough light?

Thanks


Attachments:
Example.png
Example.png [ 15.64 KiB | Viewed 433 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:53 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6560
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
The lights you have linked to have a "wall wart" power supply, which must be plugged in. So those lights are of no use to you in this instance.

(A wall wart, is Image so you can't "cut the plug off")

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: multiman, Provaci
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:31 am 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
If you really want to use these then you can add a plug by running wire from junction box to socket and then plug lights in

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk



For this message the author multiman has received gratitude : Provaci
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:41 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 times
No strong desire to use those particular ones, just looking at LED strip lighting as think this will look best. Would these work better?

https://www.simplelighting.co.uk/230v-led-link-lights-various-sizes/

Sorry, as you might gather I'm a novice at these things.

Thanks



For this message the author Provaci has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:08 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6560
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
They do not have a "wall wart" so yes you could use them.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: multiman, Provaci
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO