DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:35 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:42 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
big-all wrote:
in the second video the plunge lock lever doesnt look to be in the locked position :dunno:



It isn't , and it made no difference locked or not, I have already looked to see what difference locking it made.


Do you work for Triton?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:44 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7317
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 432 times
Been thanked: 1472 times
Looking at the second video it shoes the movement is between the router and the mount. The mount does not appear to flex. Is the issue that the screws are a little too long and bottoming in the router therefore not clamping it up tight?

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
they are clamping up tight, but the pivoting point is the mounting screws


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:52 pm 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19602
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 1788 times
piccyman wrote:
big-all wrote:
in the second video the plunge lock lever doesnt look to be in the locked position :dunno:



It isn't , and it made no difference locked or not, I have already looked to see what difference locking it made.


Do you work for Triton?

when somthing is that floppy it is obviously not functioning as designed
we need to systematically work our way through what can be causing or contributing to the problem with the easiest cheapest quickest items dealt with first
i have a very analytical brain so my answers may not be as you would expect :lol:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:52 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Fixed , made a new 18mm ply insert that replaced the tin plate.




Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:44 pm 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19602
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 1788 times
glad you got it sorted :thumbleft:
thanks for taking the time to share your solution to the problem

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:53 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:51 pm
Posts: 7317
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 432 times
Been thanked: 1472 times
dewaltdisney wrote:
If you look at Piccyman's video you can see the flex in the base allows a degree of movement on the cutter. This woudl cause the cutter to bounce against the work and cause an irregular cutting pattern, far from the accuracy needed in table router work. Would it be possible to fashion a reinforcing plate to sandwich between the router and the table mounting plate? A bit of ply would probably do it.

DWD


Ahh, I thought that might do the trick. Well done and thanks for letting us know how it went :thumbright:

DWD

_________________
Painting with BIN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:23 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Still waiting for an answer from Triton, their support really sucks ::b


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:58 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:11 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I have been looking at the router mounting plate and think that it has a fault in the pressing.
Where the router mounts are there are keyhole type slots and it looks like it they have been cutout incorrectly, which is causing points to tip on.

Or either the table top has recesses for the cutouts and they are not wide enough for the ridges in the mounting plate to drop into.




So either the ridges shouldn't be there or the recesses have been cut too small.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO