DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:28 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:37 am
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi All

I have 3 halogen downlights on my landing and stupidly put a 30w bulb in one when the max was supposed to be 20w.

None of the downlights on the landing now work and suspect the transformer has blown. Although I might be wrong.

Could someone please advise on the transformer i would need to get to replace the one pictured in the attachment. (Cant find a direct replacement anywhere)

Thanks for any help in advance.

Cheers


Attachments:
Transformer.jpg
Transformer.jpg [ 384.06 KiB | Viewed 417 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6560
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1100 times
Any "transformer" that is higher rated than required will work.
So as you have 3 x 20 watt lamps you need a "transformer" rated at 60w or preferably above (You shouldn't run a "transformer" close to its limit (like yours was) So the next available one is 105 VA

Your choice which to get, screwfix, tool station or any diy superstore (if you must) should have one.

__________________________________________________________

I say "transformer" but they are infact an electronic transformer.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 8:00 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2432
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 507 times
If you select a 0 - 60 or 0 - 105 rather than the more common 20 - 105 you should be able to fit LED lamps in the future.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO